Sit at the Feet of Jesus {Anchored Souls Series}

anchor-series

If I used one word to describe my dear friend Leigh Ellen Eade’s writing, it would be “authentic.” She lays out her her soul for the world to see, and it is both beautiful and refreshing. I’m am thrilled that I get to introduce her to you on the blog today. Please give her a warm welcome as she shares a touching story about becoming a mom.

Sit at the Feet of Jesus

When the news came that we were expecting our first child I jumped into planning mode immediately. Within days, I was designing the nursery, collecting reading material and filling the freezer with meals for our first months as a family of three.

Every plan was carefully crafted to ease our transition into parenthood. When it was time for baby to arrive, I road to the hospital expectantly and walked blissfully into the delivery unit. What happened seven days later took me by surprise.

Caring for our son one morning I was hit suddenly with the realization of how dependent he was upon me to live. For years I had been responsible for only myself. I enjoyed coming and going as I wanted. Now, I was responsible for myself and the life I stood holding. Suddenly, my life no longer felt like my own, and the journey was only beginning.

For the next fourteen months I sat awake in the nursery holding our son every night as he slept. I relished the opportunity to hold him close, but longed for sleep at the same time. Each morning I’d watch my husband leave for work, and question if I had the ability to care for our son alone.

With growing exhaustion and fading strength, I knew I needed to turn somewhere.

Have you been there? Has change ever left you scurrying for help? Are you there now?

As I began to walk in my new role as a mom there was much I needed to learn. My friends and family were wonderful resources, but some of the greatest lessons I learned were on the pages of God’s Word.

In Mark 1:40-42 we are introduced to a man who had a problem he couldn’t fix. In fact, his problem was such that society labeled him “unclean.” His only hope was Jesus.

A man with leprosy came and knelt in front of Jesus, begging to be healed.

“If you are willing, you can heal me and make me clean,” he said.

Moved with compassion, Jesus reached out and touched him.

“I am willing,” he said. “Be healed!”

Instantly the leprosy disappeared, and the man was healed.

Leprosy was a terrible disease. It often left its victims cast out from society, unable to work or see their family. I imagine it never held a place on this man’s to-do list, yet in his story, we find an answer for our troubles today.

when-you-cant-standsit-at-the-feet-of-jesusWhen you can’t stand, sit at the feet of Jesus.

Life has a way of throwing twists and turns onto our path. Sometimes these twists are good; other times they can leave us grappling for help, scared or even at rock bottom.

As an expectant momma I didn’t foresee sleepless nights and feelings of helplessness when I was planning for our son’s birth.

Maybe you are in the middle of a circumstance that’s left you staring at the unknown and wondering what to do.

When you can’t stand, sit at the feet of Jesus.

The man with leprosy was bound by a disease thought to be incurable. Life was limited for him and his future looked bleak until he came to the feet of Jesus.

While others may have avoided him; Jesus moved toward him. Jesus didn’t see his disease as too big; too “untouchable” or incurable. Rather, Jesus was moved by his faith and He reached out to touch the man and say, “be healed.”

We may not be able to physically see Jesus like the man with leprosy did, but we can still sit at His feet by:

  • studying his Word
  • praying to Him
  • praising Him
  • worshiping Him
  • giving thanks to Him

While our circumstance might not change (or it might), we can expect ourselves to change. For at the feet of Jesus we receive hope, peace, and ultimately, a fresh perspective.

Is there something you need to surrender to Him today?

You don’t have to spend another moment burdened, find your place at His feet and trade your trouble for His triumph.


leigh-ellens-headshotLeigh Ellen Eades is a writer on a mission to tell Jesus’ story. She’s passionate about her family, treasures coffee with friends and relishes quiet moments reading a book. You can connect with Leigh Ellen on Facebook, Twitter or her blog, www.raisinganarrow.org

15 thoughts on “Sit at the Feet of Jesus {Anchored Souls Series}

  1. I love that we can take our everything to God – that we can sit at His feet and unfold all our cares. Motherhood is definitely one of those things that takes adjustment and the sooner we learn to lean into God, the better we are – especially when they are teenagers, because oh, baby, do I have to lean! 😉 Beautiful words, Leigh – ever and always pointing to God!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ^^ And then they launch into young adults and you never knew you had to lean even more! Motherhood is not for the faint of heart. What a true reminder today, Leigh Ellen, to go to Jesus when we are overwhelmed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa, I laugh at myself now for all the days I spent before pregnancy thinking parenting would be a breeze. I am so grateful God didn’t leave me to my foolishness. He’s faithful and loving, for sure! And you, my friend, are an inspiration to me! Sweetest blessings to you.

        Like

  2. You share 2 true, liberating thoughts – 1) that God wants us to stop by, to sit down and be filled up and refreshed by him 2) We are not too unclean to do so – he wants us to come as we are and he will meet us there! Beautiful thoughts for this season and every day! Praying God’s Shalom over this Christmas season!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Blue Cotton Memory. It surely is beautiful that no matter where we’ve been or what we’ve done He wants us to sit at His feet. I’m thankful for those feet and the peace He gives us there. Blessings to you!

      Like

  3. Leigh Ellen,
    Motherhood is a daunting task to say the least. I am so encouraged that Jesus never says pull yourself up by your bootstraps. No, He welcomes us to come, sit at His feet and learn from Him. Even in battle, He calls for us to stand and be still and He will fight for us. The more daunting the task, the more we need to run to Him. Loved reading you here at Abby s blog today!
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Bev. I’m glad you were able to stop by, and I’m grateful for your kind words – they are like water to my soul. Be blessed, my sister!

      Like

Share your thoughts...

