What Does Casting Our Cares Even Mean?

what-does-casting-our-cares-mean

Kids hear everything.

A few days ago I received a reminder of this. Even when we think they’re not listening or won’t be interested in the conversation, they hear. They pay attention. And yes, they take interest.

In the process of running my mouth to my husband on a phone call I thought was private, I transferred worry. My eight-year-old son who should be thinking about Santa Claus or how he’s going to finagle his next piece of candy was worrying about his baby sister instead.

Because I was worrying about his baby sister.

Our fears have a way of spreading, don’t they? Like they’re contagious. We think we’re carrying these burdens by ourselves, as though the weight of them may crush us. And then out of nowhere we see the weight is also being carried by others. Other loved ones. Other friends and members of the church body.

The crazy part though? It isn’t being carried in a way that lightens our load. We don’t feel any release. They’re anxious because we’re anxious. Instead of releasing the burden, we hold onto it, unaware of its virus-like effect.

Will you continue reading with me? I’m sharing over at Purposeful Faith today about what “casting our cares” means in real life. You can read the rest of my post here.

4 thoughts on “What Does Casting Our Cares Even Mean?

  1. Thank you for this. I have been dealing with panic attacks and anxiety for several months. This verse seems to pop up just when I need to read it again. Somedays I feel hopelessly tangled in those nets. Prayer and practice keeps me casting.

    Like

  2. Abby,
    This was spot on. We can ‘cast’ in many directions many without thinking. Certainly Casting on Him, being intentional is a model our children can learn. Blessings,
    V

    Like

  3. Abby,
    Loved this post! I often wondered this same question myself?! I love the fishing analogy of casting off our cares unto the Lord as a fisherman casts his net into the sea relinquishing control. I can carry a burden I was never meant to carry or I can cast it upon Jesus. Thanks for this beautiful reminder….praying for you and baby girl!!
    Blessings friend,
    Bev xx

    Like

Share your thoughts...

