When the Road Is Weary and You Want to Give up

when-the-road-is-weary

“I feel so much opposition lately,” I complained to my friends. A writing deadline was approaching, and several road bumps made me question whether or not I would get it done.

Stressful life situations collided all at once and I felt overwhelmed by the weight of it all. At thirty-five weeks pregnant, my internal clock continued to click forward, reminding me of the passing time and the things that needed to get done.

I wanted to quit. But quitting wasn’t an option.

I tried to look back at the road behind me and remember God’s faithfulness. To see how far he’d brought me and fix my eyes on the stepping stones that took me here.

But when I looked back, all I saw was wasted time. I saw time spent writing something that would never be seen by a publisher. I saw hours spent doing research I couldn’t use.

The word “failure” followed me around like a shadow and I questioned whether I should have spent my time doing something else. Like laundry. Or dishes.

Both were things I was good at.

As I wallowed in my trench of self-pity, a dear friend did what a true friend does-she showered me with grace and truth. I was listening to lies and whispers of discouragement, but she brought the light of life.

Her advice? Keep going. Take a breather if needed, but press ahead.

weary-road

The opposition wasn’t a sign I was doing something wrong. It was a sign that I was doing something right. There was a battle raging and although I couldn’t see it, I could feel effects of it.

The father of lies wanted me to believe I wasn’t making progress and my efforts were a waste of time. But the Word says no time spent pursuing Jesus and working for his glory is wasted.

Even when no one sees it. Even when it’s rejected and cast in the shadows.

I turned to the pages of Hebrews, often referred to as “the faith chapter.”

Do you know how many of the men and women who fill these verses received what was promised? None.

Not because God was being callous or going against his word, but because he had something better waiting for them. An inheritance that surpassed anything this world has to offer.

And all these, though commended through their faith, did not receive what was promised, since God had provided something better for us, that apart from us they should not be made perfect.

Hebrews 11:39-40 ESV

These men and women had a faith that still inspires us today. Their work wasn’t futile because they did it for the Lord, and they kept their eyes fixed on a prize surpassing all the praise and acclaim this world has to offer: Jesus.

Friend, if you’re in a place where you’re wondering if anything you do is making a difference, know this- he sees. He is honored by the work you do for him, and your efforts are not in vain.

The work no one else sees if often the work that honors God the most.

Because it is those works that are done with a willing, unselfish heart. A heart full of desire to serve God and not men.

Keep pressing ahead and listening to his voice. Nothing you do in his name is wasted.

13 thoughts on “When the Road Is Weary and You Want to Give up

  1. God has really been speaking to me through the various Christian websites that I read and your message today is what I needed to hear. I won’t go on and on about what is happening in my life that makes me feel like I am wasting valuable time, but just know that your message helped someone! Thank you and God Bless You and that precious baby that you are carrying. Monica

    Like

  2. Thank you for this wonderful article. My road is always long and I grow so weary. It has been a constant battle between good and evil. My mind tells me one thing but I know my heart lets me know “this is wrong” but unfortunately I don’t always listen. I take the wrong road, make a wrong turn, & I get lost; far off the path that the Lord wants me to follow. Getting back on that path is also a struggle. But I know that the Lord “will never leave me or forsake me.” He is right by my side, even when I make that “bad” decision or “wrong” turn. He is there to gently push me back.

    “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” – Lamentations 3:22–23 ESV

    “I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and IN HIS WORD I PUT MY HOPE.” – Psalm 130:5

    “Show me your right path, O Lord; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me for you are the God who saves me.” – Psalm 25:5

    These scriptures help me every day.

    Thank you & may the Lord always bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sweetest Abby – thank you for sharing your journey with us! Though I don’t like that you’ve been experiencing a battle, I am grateful for the way you have used your battle to teach us a valuable lesson: “The work no one else sees if often the work that honors God the most.” Bless you, dear friend! Lifting you up in prayer today.

    Like

  4. Abby, Hebrews 11 is right where God has me as well. Such an enormously faith boosting chapter! Keep moving ahead, until God tells you different. Xoxo.

    Like

  5. The work no one else sees if often the work that honors God the most. Wow! Such a life-giving truth, so why do we stray away from this? Just like you said, Abby. Discouragement comes in and tries to get us off track. But we press on. Love this, friend. Have a wonderful week:)

    Like

Share your thoughts...

