The One Thing to Remember in the Face of Rejection

one important thing to remember in the face of rejection

I remember watching my firstborn get his first taste of rejection. He was about two at the time, and he leaned in to give his older female playmate a kiss.

On the mouth.

She looked at him, wide-eyed and a little mortified, and backed away. I couldn’t help but chuckle but my sweet toddler took it in stride. He knew he was cute, and her lack of interest didn’t stifle his confidence.

We kiss in our family. We show unrestrained love. But I know that once we go outside the walls of this home, those unstated rules of conduct change. My two-year-old didn’t know these rules but at that age, who does?

As he’s gotten older, the tide has shifted. Rejection hurts. I remember the first time he cried after a spat with a friend who said, “I’m not your friend anymore.” I’ve seen kids come in and out of his life, sometimes later to return.

He’s usually able to roll with the stings and the snubs, but he’s not bulletproof. And I don’t want him to be. As much as I’d love to see him never cry, get hurt or given a cold shoulder from a friend, I know he has to experience these things to truly live.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m sharing what God taught me about rejection over at Purposeful Faith. You can read the rest of my post here.

5 thoughts on “The One Thing to Remember in the Face of Rejection

  1. Abby, how is it that you always know what I need to hear?? Just yesterday I stood in the face of hard rejection. What made it even harder what that it was unexpected. (You know how someone shows interest and acts like it’s a sealed deal, then calls back with a “we’re going in a different direction” type statement?) Yeah, that happened. The turn of events made it sting even more. But your words bring comfort today. Jesus faced rejection for me. Wow! Thankful for His love today, and thankful for you too my friend! (I couldn’t comment over at PF for some reason today. Computer woes!)

    Like

    • Kristine, I’m so sorry you had to go through that. Lifting you up in prayer today. Humbled and glad my words met you where you were. God is good!

      Like

  2. Abby,
    Rejection, no matter the age, stings. If as toddlers we let the first time we fell stop us from getting up and trying again, we’d never get anywhere. Sometimes, I need to apply this principle to adult life. Chances are I’m going to hit the mat of rejection many more times than meet the applause of acceptance or praise. Knowing that God picks me up, dusts me off, and sets me on my way again gives me more and more confidence each time. Sure, it makes me downright tired at times…that’s when I know I really need to lean into the Lord. Don’t give up on getting that acceptance letter….you have what it takes!!!
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Like

  3. Abby,
    Thank you for these encouraging words! It is so easy for us to get caught up in worrying about what other people think of us that we lose sight of what God is doing though us. Jesus was willing to face rejection to carry out God’s great plan, and He can give us the strength to do it too. It can be incredibly hard to remember that though in the midst of rejection. Great post!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

