How Our Black and White View of the World is Ruining Our Witness

ruining our witness

My seven-year-old has asked questions for as long as he could string sentences together. He is a sponge learning about the world around him, and he loves figuring out how things work.

Often, he asks me a question I don’t know the answer to. And parents are supposed to have all the answers, right? But I don’t, so I simply tell him I’ll have to look into it and get back to him, or I’ll help him find the answer.

A few months ago, I discovered he was learning about storms at school. He loves engineering and science, and was repeating some of the things he’d learned about tornados, hurricanes, and floods.

Since he goes to a public school, I like to hear about his curriculum. I give him reminders about how God orchestrated all of this, and how nothing which takes place here in our solar system is out of his control.

I don’t do this so that he won’t ask questions, but so he will have a strong foundation for asking them. He continues to ask, and I am humbled because often, I have to search.

After a recent conversation I jumped on social media and found a rather heated debate taking place about whether it was ok for Christians to drink wine. Some of the comments were downright degrading.

Will you continue reading with me? I’m sharing over at Purposeful Faith today about the dangers of seeing everything in black and white. Click here to read the rest of this post.

black and white view

Share your thoughts...

