His Grace Isn’t Just for Yesterday

graphic for Katie

“I sorry, Jay! I sorry!”

I heard my four-year-old’s shouts from outside the kitchen and stopped cutting the raw chicken in front of me. My oldest child was screaming and holding his forehead in pain, squeals high-pitched like nails on a chalkboard.

After taking a deep breath and asking both boys what happened, I learned that little one had come tumbling down the slide while big brother was still on it, causing him to fall on his face. I drug the culprit inside and placed him in the time out chair while he shouted protests, not realizing the strength of my own grip.

As he sat there with tears streaming and I continued cutting meat for dinner, I tried to control my rising blood pressure. I wondered if the boys would ever play peaceably together while I made a meal.

I also realized, with shock and a little remorse, that my anger over the situation was worse than my son’s. He was the one hurt, but he had gone back to playing happily on the swing set.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m sharing over at Katie Reid’s blog, and I’d love to have you join us as we talk about listening closely to the voice of God. You can read the rest of my post here.

Share your thoughts...

