The Goodness of God During Loss {Rays in the Storm Series}

rays in the storm series

It is a pleasure to introduce you to my friend Karina Allen as we continue our Rays in the Storm series. Karina’s writing exudes the love of her Savior as she proclaims the truth of the Gospel message. She conveys her message in an honest and easy-to-understand way, and I know you will be blessed by her words today.

The Goodness of God During Loss

Loss of any kind is difficult. It takes time to process and heal. It takes time to see the good that God can bring out of it.

I’ve lost people in my life through death and them moving away. Each situation is hard in its own way. I’ve lost jobs and dreams have slipped through my hands. Loss comes in many shapes and sizes.

Loss is loss. No one loss is greater than the next. No one person’s loss is greater than that of another. All of them require perspective and all of them require grieving. Losses, no matter how seeming large or small, should be mourned because on the other side, there will be a new normal.

Regardless of what type of loss I have faced in my life, there have been some aspects the Lord has been reinforcing to me. I’m beginning to lean on what I know to be true of God, whether or not I feel it’s true. His Word is our firm foundation. He is solid and true and unwavering.

God is good.

“You are good and do good; Teach me Your statutes.” Psalm 119:68

God cannot do anything other than what is good. It goes against His nature. It’s who He is. He is the kindest Father there could ever be. He wants the best for us. He is willing to go to great lengths to lavish us with His very best. The losses in our lives may surprise us. But, they do not surprise Him. And before there was ever a loss in our lives, the Lord had already made a way to redeem it.

God is faithful.

“If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.” 2 Timothy 2:13

This is one of my absolute favorite verses in Scripture! It takes all of the weight off of us. It is God who carries the burden of establishing promises and fulfilling them. His actions are completely not dependent on what I contribute to a circumstance or how my emotions play a part. I can be as faithful or as faithless as I want to be. He does not change. He stays committed to us because we are His beloved daughters and because he honors His Word.

2 Timothy 2-13

God is a provider.

“You have been a refuge for the poor,
a refuge for the needy in their distress,
a shelter from the storm
and a shade from the heat.
For the breath of the ruthless
is like a storm driving against a wall” Isaiah 25:4

Name an aspect of life and I need God to show up there with His limitless provision. I need Him to provide in my finances and to give me wisdom and discernment. I need Him to provide healing and hope and peace and power and comfort and strength and purpose. That is just the tip of the iceberg. I could go on and on but that doesn’t deter Him. He can handle all of my needs. Not only can He handle them, He delights to do so. That is what fathers do. They know the needs of their children and they meet them. The size of the need is irrelevant to God. We ask in Jesus’ name, with a pure heart and He willingly extends provision.

Trust in His goodness.
Trust in His faithfulness.
Trust in His provision.

Your God is for you. He loves you without measure. Even in the midst of the most devastating loss, He is with you. In fact, He is holding you, whispering words of peace and hope. Hold onto Him and His promises. They are as sure as the rising of the sun.

Share a loss that you have walked through. How did God meet you there?


Karina's headshot

Karina is devoted to helping women live out their unique calling and building authentic community through practical application of Scripture in an approachable, winsome manner. You can connect with Karina at her blog, monthly at incourage.me and purposefulfaith.com or @karina268 on Twitter. She is featured in Dawn Camp’s most recent release, ‘The Gift Of Friendship’.

9 thoughts on “The Goodness of God During Loss {Rays in the Storm Series}

  1. Abby, I’m loving your series here. I’ve just signed up to follow Karina’s blog: what a treasure her words are.

    Karina: God has been taking me on a similar journey. I love what you share here: “And before there was ever a loss in our lives, the Lord had already made a way to redeem it.” It’s that hope that He has anchored me too through the deepest of valleys and I’m seeing Him now slowly bringing restoration piece by piece…with ultimate restoration awaiting us all, His children, in heaven.

    Yes: we serve a good, good Father, who even if we can’t feel Him, is working to redeem and restore every single part of us to Himself. Thank you for your beautiful encouragement.

    Like

    • Thank you Anna for reading and sharing!

      May God keep you and sustain you in the midst of this season. Know that it is only a season. Joy comes in the morning. Restoration and healing await you. Hold fast to Him with all of your might. He won’t fail you!

      Blessings to you dear one!

      Like

  2. Karina,
    So good to be reading your post here at Abby’s place…I love reading your posts at (in)courage too! So very thankful that God is in the business of redeeming our losses. Through the losses and trials in my life, He has proven himself faithful and loving. I take great comfort in the fact that God IS Love and God IS Faithful and He CANNOT deny himself. We may be fickle and moody and change our mind, but God, thankfully, does not. Thank you for this encouraging post!!
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Like

  3. Karina, isn’t it amazing that even in the loss, God’s goodness is still so real? I never could have understood that a few year ago. It makes God so much more powerful and His love so much more compelling. Thank you for your words and this needed reminder.

    Like

    • It is amazing, Lisa. I don’t know how I would have made it through some difficult times in my life without the strength of his love. Thank you for sharing, friend.

      Like

  4. Karina, I’m encouraged by what you say about leaning in to what we know about God. Even in loss, we can trust Him. I always remember that line in the song “Blessed be the name of the Lord.” It’s “He gives and takes away.” Ultimately all loss is permitted by Him. That’s hard to wrap my mind around sometimes, but I choose to trust in His goodness and love.

    Like

    • Yes, Betsy. It’s so true- we do have to make a choice to trust and believe. And I know he will bless that faith we exercise when we’re going through difficulty. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. (hugs)

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Wordsmiths’ Cafe- Edition 1 | Fearfully Made Mom

Share your thoughts...

