3 Reasons Why You Don’t Need to Conform

3 reasons not to conform

“Why are you trying to mimic his sound? Your tone is so much better than his.”

My band director’s words surprised me. For one, I wasn’t aware I was copying my fellow band member’s sound. And second, I was also amazed our leader could hear me above the other trumpets in our section.

Even though I was blending with pitch around me, he knew my ability. He didn’t want me to imitate, but to shine in my strength.

Sometimes blending is so much easier, isn’t it? Whether it’s in music or everyday life, we often find ourselves in a culture of sameness. We’re bombarded with messages on social media, billboards and ads telling us success looks this way or that way.

Whether it’s mimicking a flat pitch or jumping on the latest fashion bandwagon, we can’t escape messages about the latest trend. So what do we do? Do we simply give in to the ebb and flow of the culture around us and hope for the best?

For a long time, this is exactly how I lived my life. I was never one to enjoy the spotlight, and having an audience left me searching for the next notes to play.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m sharing over at Purposeful Faith, and I don’t want you to miss what God showed me about humility. You can read the rest of my post here.

purposeful faith post 3:17:16

 

Giveaway:

Congratulations, Carolina! You are the winner of Peace for a Lifetime by Lisa Murray. I pray this book encourages your soul and gives you fresh perspective on emotional wellness. Thank you for reading!

 

4 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why You Don’t Need to Conform

  1. I navigated over and read the rest! So GOOD! I love this. Very encouraging word today. Thank you for your blessings. And I read someone named Carolina won Lisa’s book! I’m over the moon! I love books and I’m so appreciative. ❤ If I'm the right Carolina. LOL.

    Like

  2. Thank you for these encouraging words. Especially appreciate what you share about unity being formed from unique parts of the Body. I’m slowly learning what this means, to accept and even cherish the gifts and passions God has given, rather than hide them, while also accepting and cherishing what God has gifted others (who are very different to me). We really are all uniquely made by an awesome Creator. It’s so utterly amazing to reflect on all the different gifts God has bestowed and how they all fit together and complement each other (when we follow His leading).

    Like

Share your thoughts...

