Are We Ignoring a Crucial Area of Our Health? {Book Review & Giveaway}

Peace for a Lifetime Book Review

I spent my first year as a mother trying to stuff my emotions.

My husband and I began our marriage by moving cross-country, over two thousand years from a town in the heart of South Carolina where I’d spent my entire life. Less than two months later, I saw two solid lines on a pregnancy test I bought while on my lunch break at work.

In the months following the arrival of our baby boy, everything was foreign. The crying, the breastfeeding and lack of sleep, not to mention the culture of our new home and surroundings.

I felt like I was on a sinking ship without an anchor, but was afraid to cry out for help. Screams of “failure” filled my head at night when I tried to rest, waiting for our firstborn’s next feeding.

Even a trip home over Christmas to satiate my craving for family, southern fried chicken and sweet tea could not lift my spirits for long. I knew I needed help, but the remedies I sought addressed other areas of my health instead of the emotional pain I was experiencing.

After spending an hour in the gym, my physical needs were met. Worship and messages straight from the Gospel filled our little family’s Sunday morning, so I was spiritually filled.

What I failed to realize is that until I addressed the emotional area of my well-being, I would never attain complete health.

I was pouring into other facets of my life and expecting fulfillment, but was ignoring my emotions altogether. When my OBGYN prescribed me with a second anti-depressant, which failed miserably and left me questioning the value of my own life, I knew something had to change. I made a phone call to a Christian counselor recommended by our church.

Dialing those numbers was the first step in my journey toward healing.

When I read the opening chapters of Lisa Murray’s book, Peace for a Lifetime, all I could think was, “I wish I’d had this book seven years ago.” She addresses some of the core issues I dealt with during my first year as a mom, and illustrates how ignoring our emotional health will only lead to an unbalanced life.

peace for a lifetime image

As Lisa poignantly explains, our lives of comprised of three areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. When we spend time nurturing each of these facets, we are healthy and balanced, like a three-legged stool. But just as the stool becomes wobbly when we remove one of the legs, our lives become out of sync when we fail to spend time and energy on one of these three areas. Just like the pounds pile on when we eat fast food every day and fail to exercise, our emotional health suffers when we don’t spend time addressing the source of our anger, depression, resentment, etc.

Allowing ourselves to feel our emotions is a great gift in that all of the energy we spend not feeling them can be focused on reasoning through them so we can understand them and manage them well. (page 8)

Lisa spends the remaining chapters showing how we reach emotional abundance, and explains how devoting time to our own health will lead to peace and thriving relationships. As with any other area of our life, we start with God, because until we have peace with Him, we will never know true peace in any other realm.

Whether you are in a season of life where peace eludes you or you’ve been searching for it your whole life, I highly recommend Peace for a Lifetime. Lisa takes you by the hand and shows you there is life and abundance beyond the stress, striving and yearning for something more. With the practical, easy-to-follow steps she offers and the knowledge she brings to the table, you will see peace isn’t just an illusion or a fantasy.

It is indeed possible, and it can be for life.


 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00072]

 

Purchase Info and Giveaway

Lisa Murray,’s book is available now and you can purchase it here. I am also giving away a free copy to one of my readers! Simply comment below and share on one social media outlet. I will announce the winner on Thursday, March 17.

21 thoughts on “Are We Ignoring a Crucial Area of Our Health? {Book Review & Giveaway}

  1. I love your honesty and as Jesus said of Nathaniel, ” … a person in whom there is no guile …”! I am planning on getting this book for my wife for her birthday! Then I get to read it too! 😉
    Great Thought, a neglected part of us – the emotional!
    Thanks Abby!

    Like

    • Good morning! I am not reaching my physical need. I am overweight and lack motvation to exercise. I know intellectually what damage this is doing, however, the problem remains. I have been on every diet known to man. So this morning I am seeking God and asking Him what is it that I need to do or is there some step by step plan for me? Being overweight plays such a number not only on my physical body but also on my self worth. Thank you for writing once again. Thank you for all the insight you offer.

      Like

      • Would love to help my 2 lovely daughter in laws in this area ad I did not have it and I know how inportant it is.

        Like

      • Betty, I have not been exercising regularly either and I know it would help my overall mood if I was more disciplined. I am praying for us both today, and asking God to direct you to the right plan to move toward complete health. Thank you for being here.

        Like

  2. I love how honest you are. It’s something I can connect with on a deeper level. I’ll add this book to my growing list of recommendations. I’m an emotional roller coaster this week, but God reminded me to clothe myself in his love, harmony, peace and grace. God’s good news is that he’s forever a part of us even when we feel down. I’m looking up and out this week. Have a great week, Abby! 🙂

    Like

  3. For some reason, it’s easy for us to think of our physical and spiritual selves, but not address our emotional selves Thanks for this reminder. And thanks for sharing your heart on this blog with each post. 🙂

    Like

  4. This is a great review, Abby. I love Lisa’s quote about allowing ourselves to feel our emotions and the analogy of the three-legged stool. Thank you, also for sharing what God taught you. Blessings and hugs to you!

    Like

  5. Abby,
    Thank you for giving us a window into your story and for sharing how this book impacted you. So true, that we need all three legs to stand and not be wobbly. God gives our bodies mechanisms to let us know we’re out of sync…we just need to pay attention to the red flags it sends out.
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Like

    • Bev, sometimes those parts of my life are hard to share, but I feel if I can help someone else by being real it is worth it! Love and hugs to you.

      Like

  6. Abby – I love how your story always brings hope. God is so good and to witness how He has brought someone else through difficult times is an encouragement. Your words release power to believe He will bring myself (and others) through our difficult times as well. This is a great endorsement for this book! It’s on my list of “hope to read soon” books! Blessings!

    Like

  7. Sounds like a great book. I’m so glad to hear you refer to our emotional side. I do not hear this much. The Lord has spoke to me about all three, spiritual, physical & emotional have to be addressed in order to have peace. Thanks for sharing your thoughts & experiences. I’m 55 yrs old but I’m sure even though my kids are grown & I now have grandkids I will get insight to the emotional side of me 😊

    Like

Share your thoughts...

