Are We Living Life Awake?

are we living life awake

“Mama, Mama?”

I hear my four-year-old’s voice beside me and try to muster the energy to respond. He’s going through a phase where he craves attention more than my oldest, and he questions everything.

“What’s that, Mama?”

“What’s he doing?”

“Why? Why? Why?”

I know there will come a day when the questions are few and far between, so I try to be present and let him know his curious spirit is valued and loved. But I am exhausted.

A warm cup of coffee and a new book beckon me, but I’ll be lucky to get to either before nightfall. And deep down I know this yearning to escape isn’t limited to my son’s inquisitiveness.

During difficult seasons, I often sleepwalk through life. I trick myself into thinking if I can just make it to bedtime, make it to the weekend, or make it to the next break, I will be okay.

But the hard truth is that going through the motions of life on autopilot is not okay. I’m not living, but slowly dying in a state of unconsciousness.

I’m sure there have been times when God has answered a cry for help and I didn’t even notice. Why? I was wrapped up in self-preservation, numb to what was happening around me. I blanket hurt and worry with busyness, shopping or a new show on Netflix.

What I’ve come to realize is this: If I want to receive God’s blessing, I have to be awake to see it. Sometimes the blessing comes through hardship, which allows me to see his glory. He purifies me through the struggle and shows me even in the midst of the valley, there is reason to praise and worship.

In 2016 I want to live life “awake,” which is why I’ve chosen this as my “one word” for the year. Whether I’m experiencing the joy of a milestone accomplished or in the throes of a financial crisis, I want to experience it with my eyes open, because that’s the only way to truly live.

Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.

Ephesians 5:14 ESV

Do you want Christ to shine on you? Oh Lord, I do.

God, I don’t want to sleepwalk through any of the seasons I am present on this earth. The time is short, and like vapor we are here one moment, and gone the next. Help me to keep my eyes fixed on you, even when life gets difficult. Awake me to the glorious wonders of your presence, right here in the every day.

 

Linking up here:

OneWordCoffee Linkup

9 thoughts on “Are We Living Life Awake?

  1. Oh, Abby, I also find it so easy to glide on autopilot through the day. So much to do on this parenting gig! Your word goes right along with mine. I want to be awake too. Praying now you’ll have a wonderful 2016 with eyes wide open to His blessings.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this post, Abby! I have been thinking of some of the same things. This season of motherhood, though pretty exhausting, is not forever. I am with you in remembering to make the most of each moment….living awake… and not wasting this precious time we have with each other.

    Like

    • Kim, it is so good to hear from you again. Yes, I hear you on the exhaustion and you are right. These seasons are so fleeting and fast. God bless you, friend. Praying for all the weary mamas today. 🙂

      Like

  3. What a great word Abby! “Awake” I want to see the blessings that God has for me even through the pain and difficulties. I am glad that He has revealed to me a word for 2016! I had never heard of that until a month ago reading other Christian bloggers. May you see all the blessings that God has for you in 2016!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

