When Woe, Woe, Woe Replaces Your Ho, Ho, Ho {A Guest Post}

life unstuck intro

I’m so glad to be welcoming my friend Christy Mobley back to the blog today. Christy has become a close friend and encourager to me over the past few months, and continually thank God for the grace and perspective she brings to my life. When I first heard her refer to herself as “off the cuff” I knew it was the perfect description. She brings a beautiful combination of life and wisdom to the conversation, and I know you’ll be be blessed by her words here.

for linkedin

Christy is a wife, mother, writer, mentor, and Life Purpose Coach. She is passionate about encouraging women to move forward, and press on through their struggles, seeking God’s presence in every bump and turn in the road.

Christy would love to connect with you. You can find her at her blog: Joying in the Journey, Twitter, and Facebook.

When Woe, Woe, Woe Replaces Your Ho, Ho, Ho

It’s October, and fall, my favorite time the year. Maybe because we get our first taste of “cool” that lifts the heavy off the Florida heat or maybe it’s that the calendar tells me it’s okay to bake pumpkin bread again (even though the cans of pumpkin are sold in the store year round). I don’t know, whatever it is, I just love this time of year.

But fall also means I’m only a couple of months away from my least favorite time of the year.

December and Christmas.

A season most everyone loves.

But not me.

Actually, I have a love/hate relationship with it.

Before you think I’m terrible remember to give grace, and let me explain. You might have a similar problem and don’t even know it.

December’s a place where I feel stuck. Stuck in woe-is-me’sville.

I love what the season represents—a time to celebrate the birth of Christ with family and friends. But for me, when I let the reason for the season get overtaken with busyness and responsibilities, I wish I could just skip over December completely and time warp myself into January.

I catch myself whining about all I have to do and I pull out my victim card and throw myself a pity party.

Woe is me – I have to pull all those Christmas tree decorations out and decorate our “Red Wood” sized tree all by myself because no one wants to do it anymore.

Woe is me – I have to to find Christmas cards, take the perfect picture to go in them, address them (at least 100) and get the cards out in a timely manor. Double woe!

Woe is me – there is a holiday party I need to attend, with food to be made and gifts to be bought and wrapped for every night of the week in December.

Woe is me – I need to give to the Salvation Army, the Good Will, The Angel Tree, and every widow and orphan on earth which is great but not . . . all in the month of December.

Woe is me – I have to find the perfect gift for everyone all creation.

Woe is me – I’m stuck. Stuck under the expectations of others.

Why? I allowed myself to get stuck because I never set boundaries.

fall leaves for Abby

I never said, “No thank you, this too much for me.” I never set limits, even with family. After awhile, one by one, all the things I did became expected.

I tried to please people when I only needed to please God.

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or God? Or am I trying to please man? …” Galatians 1:10 a (ESV)

Last year I tried something different. I said no to the Christmas tree (yes, bah-humbug) because none of the kids were home for Christmas. I ended up getting a tiny one anyway (my choice), with a few simple decorations. Even this small change made a ginormous difference in my stress level and ultimately in my attitude.

I’m learning to get unstuck.

Don’t let your ho, ho, ho get replaced with woe, woe, woe.

Where in your life do you need to set boundaries so you don’t get stuck in the muck of someones else’s expectations? Where do you need to say no to people and maybe say yes to God?

 

*This post is part of the #Write31Days challenge. You can find all posts for this series here.

Share your thoughts...

