Overflowing Hope

life unstuck intro

Today I’m excited to welcome my friend Sabra Penley to the blog. I met Sabra via an online writing class and it wasn’t long before a friendship was formed. Sabra’s writing exhorts in a gentle and non-condemning way, and I am always blessed by her words. I hope you will give her a warm welcome as we continue our series on becoming unstuck and finding true freedom in Christ.

Sabra headshot

Sabra loves the Lord Jesus and strives to bring Him glory each day, although she’ll tell you most days she falls short. This empty-nester mom enjoys taking life one day at a time, living with less, and finding joy in the details. Together with her husband, David, she writes a blog about living married life according to God’s Word at www.simplyoneinmarriage.com. You can also connect with her through Twitter and Pinterest.

Overflowing Hope

I hate getting stuck. And it seems to happen a lot.

My most recent example? This post. I sat down to write so many times and…nothing. Not…a…thing. The longer it went on, the more frustrated I became. I couldn’t seem to move forward, like a tire stuck in the mud going nowhere.

Now, you may never have experienced writer’s block. But I’m guessing you have moments of feeling stuck in some area of your life.

Maybe your job consumes your life and eats up the time you’d like to spend with your family. Maybe a health crisis has you wondering if life will ever be normal again. Or maybe your marriage has hit a rough patch and you can’t see past the hurt to the return of a warm and loving relationship.

There’s no end to the ways we can get stuck. Past experiences, current situations, and fear of the future can stop us in our tracks. Hopelessness can settle in before we know it, and we don’t know what to do.

Well, I’m here to say, the situation is never hopeless! For we serve the God of hope!

Ephesians 3:20 says, “[He] is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us…”

Praise God! HE IS ABLE! Far above anything we can even imagine—and we can imagine a lot, can’t we?

The truth is this: GOD HAS ALL THE ANSWERS! And His Word tells us how to find them…

Sabra's graphic

REST IN HIM

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation. He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.” – Psalm 62:5-6

TRUST IN HIM

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

REJOICE IN HIM

Rejoice in the Lord always.” – Philippians 4:4

POUR OUT YOUR HEART TO HIM

“…pour your hearts out to Him, for God is our refuge.” – Psalm 62:8

ASK HIM FOR HELP and GIVE HIM THANKS

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” – Philippians 4:6

What does He promise will be the result?

HIS PEACE AND PROVISION WILL BE OURS

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7

“And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:19

Getting stuck in this life is all too easy. But instead a hopeless mess that will never get resolved, sticky situations can be a blessing in disguise. For they can draw us close to the One who loves us most—the One who has all the answers–Jesus Christ our Lord.

And just as He promises, when we turn to Him for the answers, He will fill our lives with the joy and peace we desperately desire.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” – Romans 15:13

 

*This post is part of the #Write31Days challenge. You can find all posts for this series here.

5 thoughts on “Overflowing Hope

  1. Oh yes, Sabra. Those areas CAN be a blessing and draw us closer to God! Thank you for these wonderful scriptures today. They make me want to shout praises to Him right now!

    Like

  2. I can relate to getting stuck! Thank you, Sabra for your transparency, and pointing us to the answer found in Jesus. Beautiful words of truth, as always. Abby, thank you as well for your series I just stumbled upon. I’ll be back! Blessings and love to you both!

    Like

  3. I’m just seeing this post today, October 12th! And so glad because Romans 15:13 is my very favorite verse. I like this: “Rest in Him, Trust in Him, Rejoice in Him, Pour out your Heart to Him.” Seems like this could help me to NOT get stuck. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts...

