When We Lose Our Faith In Humanity

life unstuck intro

The words caught me off guard.

As I sat pondering them, I wondered if he was right. Deep in my core, I didn’t want him to be. I didn’t want to go through life questioning the intentions of every person I met. I didn’t want to always wonder if those close to me had ulterior motives.

But the sad thing was, I believed him.

“You shouldn’t trust anyone. Just trust in the Lord.”

I’d told him my trust was broken. In this season, I didn’t feel safe with anyone. I’d been violated in ways that were difficult for me to talk about and pain I’d buried for far too long was bubbling to the surface.

I didn’t expect him to confirm my doubts. I didn’t expect to be told to go through life an orphan, never believing in anyone or having faith in a love which goes beyond our own selfish motives. But that’s exactly what he did.

For years I went through life continually looking beneath the surface, searching for the selfish reason behind the generous gesture or the lie behind the cunning smile.

There is no place lonelier than the heart which trusts no one. And the sad truth about a lack of trust is that we will remain stuck in our walk with Christ unless we learn to see others the way he does.

We can focus on the work of Christ in others rather than the work we think they need.

We can focus on the log in our eye rather than the speck in theirs.

sunlight

I’m not saying to be a doormat. And I’m not saying we don’t need boundaries. But God never intended us to walk through life alone, trusting no one but ourselves and him. He created us for community and unity amongst each other.

He made us for more than a life of isolation with walls so high we can’t remember where the foundation lies. Love goes beyond those walls and reaches out to the lost, the weary and the weak.

We love because that’s what we were created to do.

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

1 Corinthians 13:7

Love perseveres, friends. Even when we have the breath knocked out of us, we continue to hope. Because the source of our hope goes beyond this lifetime into the eternal.

We trust our brothers and sisters because of the work being done in them. Our flesh may fail, but the Spirit of truth has sealed us for the day of redemption.

And our redemption was bought with too high a price for us to roam this earth as orphans.

 

*This post is part of the #Write31Days challenge. You can find all posts for this series here.

8 thoughts on “When We Lose Our Faith In Humanity

  1. I’ll be honest, Abby. This one is hard for me. I’ve had those experiences, like many, that cause me to put up a wall between me and others to protect myself from ever getting hurt again. The past two years have been filled with intentional efforts on my part to rebuild my trust in humanity, to reach out and form friendships, to fully experience the community God called us to. But it takes commitment, and I am so thankful for the healing God has done in me as I’ve trusted Him. Great topic today, friend!

    Like

    • Kristine, thank you for your honesty. It truly is a process. Often, I feel those walls start to go back up. It’s in my nature to look for that selfish motive. But God is showing me how to see others the way he does, very slowly. I’m thankful he’s not finished with me yet. 😉

      Like

  2. My favorite part: “But God never intended us to walk through life alone, trusting no one but ourselves and him. He created us for community and unity amongst each other.

    He made us for more than a life of isolation with walls so high we can’t remember where the foundation lies. Love goes beyond those walls and reaches out to the lost, the weary and the weak.”

    When we’ve been betrayed the reaction is to protect ourselves but we will never truly be content living in this kind of self-sufficient isolation. God heals so that we can live fully as He intended–open hearted with His protection. Thanks for writing!

    Like

  3. “For years I went through life continually looking beneath the surface, searching for the selfish reason behind the generous gesture or the lie behind the cunning smile.” My heart shuddered as I read this. So familiar in my life. I have come a long way, but sometimes those walls do raise up again. I’m still a work in progress. 🙂 I love that you remind us He doesn’t make us to live like orphans and He wants love to go “beyond those walls and reaches out to the lost, the weary and the weak.” Thank you, Abby.

    Like

  4. Yes, this…we love because that’s what we were made to do. I’m so glad you were able to realize that and have let God do the beautiful work in you that He has and is continuing to do. You are a LIGHT for Him and I’m so glad He shined you in my direction, friend. ❤

    Like

Share your thoughts...

