Are We Living Life Stuck?

life unstuck intro

I used to be obsessed with astrology.

One afternoon I remember camping out at a Barnes & Noble, perusing different books and discovering I not only had a sun sign, but a moon sign and rising sign. I was hooked.

Convinced these theories explained everything about me and unlocked keys to my future, I went through several years of my life thinking I couldn’t change. After all, a Scorpio with Aquarius rising and a Pisces moon simply was who she was, right? It was the fate of the planets and the stars.

But here’s what these books don’t tell you. We are each created with the ability to transform, adapt, and yes, change.

Now, I’m not here to dispute astrology. If the God of the universe chose to align certain planets in a way that affects our personalities, he could certainly do so. I’m sure I’ll never know in this lifetime.

I’m here to give you an invitation. An invitation to change our lives and open us to a world of possibilities.

I’m inviting you to live life unstuck.

“What?” you may say. What exactly does this mean?

A life stuck is one that never moves into the fullness Christ created us to have. Instead of moving forward and embracing the freedom promised to us in scripture, we live stuck in cyclical patterns of insecurity and regret.

What I didn’t realize one fall afternoon as I sat reading about the stars is that my identity isn’t determined by who an astrologist says I am. It doesn’t stem from my performance as a wife, mom and friend or whether I’m an introvert or extrovert.

It is found in Christ alone.

When we look to anyone or anything other than Christ to determine who we are, we live our lives stuck.

stars

The stars and the planets do not define who we are. The God who created them does.

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now life in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20 NIV

Over the next 31 Days, some of my favorite writers and I will share experiences God used to teach us. We discuss how to let go of negative thought patterns like fear, comparison and insecurity and dig into scripture to find our way home.

We will offer up prayers to our Creator and be watchful for his answers.

What we give will not be a blueprint, because there is no blueprint for life. Instead, we extend hands and invite you to go with us on this journey.

If there’s anything God has taught me in thirty-six years, it’s that he often uses the mostly unlikely vessels to convey his message. And if he allows us to encourage you or convey a word of truth, to Him be the glory.

Our personalities may not change much over the years. But our attitudes can. Our thoughts can. And our direction can.

Will you join us over the next 31 days? I promise to be authentic and real as we explore this topic.

Because we are better together. When we encourage each other and push each other forward in new ways, we can reach heights beyond the furthest star.

 

*This is post one of the #Write31Days challenge. You can find all posts for this series here.

*Linking up with Suzie Eller’s #LiveFreeThursday. Come join us and be inspired.

15 thoughts on “Are We Living Life Stuck?

  1. So excited for your series, Abby. Yes, we can change! And our lives with Jesus should show evidence of that. Your words are true, instead of moving forward in freedom, we sometimes get stuck in those cyclical patterns. What a blessing this series will be! Happy to join you, friend.

    Like

  2. It’s so easy, especially this time of year, to feel stuck. Maybe that’s why we are always so excited about New Year’s resolutions 🙂 Excited to see this series! #LiveFreeThursday

    Like

  3. “When we look to anyone or anything other than Christ to determine who we are, we live our lives stuck.” Oh, how I need this reminder. Every day. I’m looking forward to these 31 days. Thank you, Abby.

    Like

  4. Abby,
    Cheering you on…good for you for taking the 31 day challenge!! I’m anxious to see and hear what you will be posting on this wonderful topic. I am a gal that tends to like her “ruts” of routine, but the down side is they leave me stuck. God continually challenges me to live life “unstuck”, but that requires looking only to Him and being willing to change. Looking forward to journeying with you…
    Blessings,
    Bev xx

    Like

    • Bev, I’m so blessed by your encouragement. I hope I make it 31 days. We shall see. Friends like you certainly help push me on. I always love hearing from you. See you in a couple of weeks!

      Like

  5. Blessings on your series, Abby! I love what you say about digging ourselves out by digging into scripture. This is a great topic, and I hope you’ll enjoy writing about it. It’ll be a challenge as we seek to live unstuck ourselves!

    Like

  6. Amen! The stars and moon don’t determine who we are. Was reading in Jeremiah just today. He knew us before we were born. Now that’s good stuff. Enjoyed reading here today, Abby. Was encouraged as always.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

