Finding Purpose in Unexpected Places

graphic for betsy

It was the season of slow.

I pushed my ever-cautious son to try a new activity and he resisted. With further coaxing he took a step forward only to take two steps back.

I submitted my writing to various publications and waited. Then, I waited some more. Weeks passed until finally received a “no” from one with still no response from the others.

Our church prepped for a new outreach geared toward local moms. Anticipation mounted as we discussed plans for our first meeting. Then, more waiting.

One evening as I minced garlic and boiled pasta for dinner I thought, “God, am I really making a difference? I longed to see tangible results, but in ministry and the tedious days of raising children some of our greatest impacts go unseen.

We pour love and life into others and hope it will produce fruit, but the real Life-Giver is not of this world.

Still, I needed a sign. I yearned for a little slice of encouragement.

I nearly missed it when it came.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m sharing at Faith Spilling Over in a series called “Finding God in Your Everyday.” I’d love for you to join us. You can read the rest of my post here.

 

*Linking up with Kelly Balarie and Jennifer Dukes Lee to encourage and be encouraged. Come join us.

Share your thoughts...

