Who Are We Trying to Please?

depleted vessel

I’ll never forget the sound. It was hundreds of pounds of files and metal crashing down on my three-year-old son but to me it sounded like one thing: disaster.

The impact was followed by the shrill scream of my child. In complete panic I ran from my parents’ kitchen to see him lying there with the filing cabinet on top of him.

With strength I didn’t know I possessed, I lifted the weight from him, consoled him and examined his body. As I wrapped my arms around him my mind repeated the question, “How did this happen?”

Later, when my family discussed the mishap, my husband explained how our son didn’t need to be able to move the entire cabinet on his own. He simply had to put it off balance. Once several drawers came out, it only took a small push to send it toppling over.

So often in life, I am like my son. The drawers are projects, service opportunities and responsibilities, and often I have several pulled out at the same time. My balance gets awry and I need to lighten the load, but instead I take on more.

I put the desire to please others above the gentle nudges from God to rest.

The longer I ignore his promptings the more irritable I become, until I am a frazzled mom and wife with little left to offer anyone other than scraps of time. Like the crashing filing cabinet, I lose all sense of stability.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m sharing over at PurposefulFaith.com, and I’d love to share what God showed me about finding balance. You can read the rest of my post here.

 

*Photo Credit

GIVEAWAY:

Congratulations Abby Breuklander! You are the winner of a signed copy of Fulfilled. Thank you so much for reading.

5 thoughts on “Who Are We Trying to Please?

  1. Great illustration, Abby. I have often thought how the Christian life really boils down to one word: balance. And truly how easy it is to disrupt that if we get too many “drawers” pulled out!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

