Where Do We Find Peace When Chaos Rules?

safe harbor

The news came across the waves of a Christian radio station a few days before our family vacation. Nine people were shot in a church.

In a place where people gather to find peace and comfort, the Enemy prowled like a lion and a hate crime was committed. And in the midst of packing to return home to this state, my mind raced with questions so deep it ached.

Why, God? How could this happen in a place where your children gather to worship?

A couple of weeks later, the same radio station shared information about a new drug which is becoming popular on the streets. Parents of a young teen who tried it were called with the report that their child was in a coma.

Chaos rages at home and overseas. Images of children being sold to a terrorist organization whose name gives me chills bombard social media. It is easy to feel weak and helpless. What can be done? What kind of world are my children going to be entering as adults?

Fear, in many ways, is like a virus. It starts out small and then spreads at increasing speed until it consumes every part of our body. It affects our sleep. Our thoughts are overcome by it.

If we aren’t careful, it can cripple us in ways we don’t foresee and may not even realize. I have been there. I have wanted to keep my child in a bubble, to stay in one place, to refuse to move. All my inertia was in the name of the toxin which afflicted me: fear.

And while I haven’t arrived to a place where I have all the answers or expect that I will, I know someone whose peace goes beyond the circumstances surrounding me.

When the chaos of the world overwhelms us, Jesus is our safe harbor.

He is the sure anchor for our souls, immovable by the changing tides of the world. (Hebrews 6:19)

In a world where people hate based on religion, color, geography and status, His love is not a respecter of persons. (Romans 2:11)

When the world which changes with the climate and the latest trends, He is the same yesterday, today, and forever. (Hebrews 13:8)

Where philosophy and intellect fail us, his love makes fools of the wise.

Despite my anxiousness and worry about the state of this world, I’ve seen God work miracles. In a city mourning the loss of brave souls, a community came together and stood firm despite tragedy. On a globe wrecked with terrorism and evil, men and women are banding together in an effort to provide refuge for the vulnerable.

If I don’t know anything else in this life I will stand on this promise: His love never fails. I cannot wrap the hurt and the heartache that consumes this fallen place in a bow and make it go away, but I know when my King comes again, he will wipe every tear from our eyes.

Until then, I remember this place is not my home. And while I sojourn here and do my best with the precious gifts he’s given me, I hold on to the only thing which is constant.

His love.

 

*Linking up with Suzie Eller’s #LiveFreeThursday. Come join us and be inspired.

9 thoughts on “Where Do We Find Peace When Chaos Rules?

  1. If I would just learn to run His safe harbor more quickly…or better yet, stay there! His presence is our peace! Thanks for sharing this much-needed message, Abby. Blessings to you.

    Like

    • You and me both, Sabra. I need to learn to run there more quickly too, and stay there. Thanks so much for your sweet encouragement, friend. So blessed by you. ❤

      Like

  2. You have read my mind. I have been mulling these issues around in my head the past few weeks. Thank you for reminding me of the safe place in our Savior.

    Like

    • I am so glad to hear this encouraged you, Jenny. God is good all the time, even when the news around the world is devastating. And thank YOU for encouraging me, friend.

      Like

  3. Abby,
    So true – His love never fails! When everything is falling down around us, His love remains constant. I believe that He gives us His love in abundance, never ending because, as you said, this world is not our home. Together…we’ll get through!
    Love and blessings,
    Bev

    Like

    • Yes Bev, we will get through. So grateful for beautiful friends like you to walk alongside me. Can’t wait to meet you in Oct. Have a wonderful weekend.

      Like

  4. I’m looking forward to that day, Abby, when our Glorious King returns and wipes away every tear from our faces. Sometimes it’s all I can do to keep my eyes focused on him. Thanks for your words of encouragement today. So good to remember we are SAFE with our SAVIOR!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

