When You’re Tired of the Wait

DSC_0283

The ocean was restless and moody, like me. I tried to soak in the beauty of my surroundings and be patient. Swatting at gnats, I walked further down the beach to get a better vantage point.

Where was the sun? I snapped a few shots of the birds looking for their morning meal. Their flight seemed so peaceful. They glided across the water with ease and in perfect unison.

I could sense God trying to speak to me through his creation, but my mind kept going back to the sun. Where was it? Had I missed it?

A fishing boat made it’s way north and I followed it’s path with my eyes. I glanced back to the boardwalk where I’d left my shoes, then turned my attention back to the sleepless surf.

Peeking just above the water in all its amber splendor, it was there. It took its time. There was no hurry about it. It snuck over the horizon with elegance, reflecting perfection over a shimmer of waves.

DSC_0293

waiting 2

Just when I was ready to put my camera away and head back to the comfort of my bed, the sun arrived. And the message God spoke to my heart was undeniably clear.

Time spent waiting for God is never wasted.

His timing is perfect, but more often than I care to admit I want things done on my timeline. If I’m not moving at breakneck speed to toward the next goal, move or destination, I think I’m missing something.

Questions overwhelm my soul and I grow weary waiting for the answers. Should I stay in this ministry or step away? Should we stay in this place or move? When will I see this dream you’ve place in my heart come to fruition, God?

The whys and uncertainties stretch out as far in front of me as I can see. Answers are few, so I wait. In all my waiting, I feel as though time is slipping away.

Despite all my whining and anxiousness, the Word tells me waiting on God is never negative. It forces me to look not to myself, but to Him. It shows me my deep need for Him and my inability to make lasting change without his Spirit working through me.

Isaiah 40:31 tells me waiting on the Lord will renew my strength, making me like the birds I saw gliding across the surf. 1 Corinthians 13 lists patience as the first virtue of love.

Those who love God wait for him. We put aside our pride and our schedules and kneel at the feet of the One who knows all things.

And do you know what God does for those who wait? He acts. At just the right time, he reaches out his hand and delivers in a way only he can.

Since ancient times no one was heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for you. 

Isaiah 64:4 NIV (emphasis mine)

My friend, no matter what season you’re in, God has not forgotten you. Whether it be on a mountaintop or in a slow valley where it’s difficult to see around the next bend, he is there.

At just the right moment, you will see the Son. And I can promise you that when you witness his majesty shining over you in a way you can’t deny, it will be worth it.

 

*Linking up with Purposeful Faith , Jennifer Dukes Lee and Holley Gerth. Come join us.

36 thoughts on “When You’re Tired of the Wait

  1. Slow and steady, that’s my pace. Sometimes I’m ok with the pace, other times, it just grates on my nerves! Just when I get anxious and my foot starts tapping, I read something filled with truth, like your post, and I just take a deep breath and relax. Thank you friend. xxoo

    Like

  2. This is so pretty, Abby.
    Love how you incorporated your siting of the “sun” with the siting of another “son”.
    Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    • Me too, Sherry! I think God is speaking this message into many hearts lately. I pray he gives us wisdom and discernment to hear the Spirit speak. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  3. Beautiful post Abby. These words I know will comfort so many. I could really see your heart shine. I can’t wait to see how God unfolds his beautiful plans for you. I praise God that he is comforting you with his love during the wait.

    Like

  4. “Time spent waiting for God is never wasted.” I definitely needed this encouragement today! I know this is true but I have felt a bit discouraged lately. God has not forgotten me and He is my very present help in time of trouble.(Psalm 46:1) Thank you for writing!

    Like

    • I am so glad to hear it encouraged you, Angela, and am glad we connected! Thank you for stopping by and I look forward to visiting and hearing more from you.

      Like

  5. This here was such a beautiful reminder >>> “And do you know what God does for those who wait? He acts. At just the right time, he reaches out his hand and delivers in a way only he can.” Thank you for reminding me to wait on Him. Blessings!

    Like

    • I was so encouraged when I reread those verses from Isaiah. I love the way his Word is always coming alive in new ways. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  6. Aaahhh, maybe you caught me wiping away a tear, Abby, lol. This is so good. Super good. I can’t tell you. Your words have been hung on His timing, and fill my heart up, lady! I don’t know what else to say…
    Much love, big blessings!

    Like

    • Oh Christine, I’ve been a little teary too lately girl. God has a perfect plan for you, friend, and I can’t wait to see how it unfolds. You are a beautiful woman of God with a beautiful heart. Thank you always for your encouragement, dear. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this post Abby. God had me writing about timing and waiting too, I think He is up to something big 😉 Your words are always inspiring and beautiful. Thank you for sharing the words He’s placed on your heart. Blessings to you my friend.

    Like

  8. Perfect read for me today. Pacing is definitely not the same as waiting on the Lord. I need to stop the pacing and get down on my knees and wait so He will act…and the phone just rang to see if they could show our house tonight…but I am still going to go get on my knees. Love you Abby.

    Like

  9. Abby,
    There was so much ‘beautiful’ about this! Waiting – why is it so difficult for us humans? Ugh! Especially for us Type-A humans! Through the international adoption of our daughter and now the search and wait for her healing, the last several years have been a journey of waiting. The first couple of years I was desperate. I felt like I couldn’t wait any longer. But now I can see how God has been growing me – sharpening me. I have learned to still have peace in the midst of the wait (most of the time anyway!) To hold on to the moments God gives us through the wait reminding me that He has not forgotten me!
    Blessings and smiles, my friend!
    Lori

    Like

    • I am so happy to hear how God has worked through this process in your life, Lori. He truly does use these struggles to grow us. I’m still a work in progress but he’s not finished with me yet. 😉 Thanks for stopping by, friend!

      Like

  10. Always good reading your posts Abby. Waiting is tough, but not impossible. God’s example of showing us patience is incredible. Often my greatest periods of spiritual growth come in the times I have to wait for God’s answers. I’m grateful to know I’m not alone in my struggles with waiting and through the hope of Christ the end results from trying to always pay off.

    Like

    • Amen, Walter. God is the ultimate example and he is so incredibly patient with us. Thanks so much for visiting and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

      Like

  11. Waiting…good word for me these days when I have ‘things to do, places to be’ and yet the precious time with Him does not happen. I am thankful you waited as your photos are beautiful and you get to share them with us, Abby. I am blessed. 

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Linda. The wait was certainly worth it to see that spectacular sunrise. God is good, all the time. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      Like

  12. His timing is perfect. I LOVE this post! Your photos are beautiful but the spirituel lesson even more beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing this with me and others.

    Dont be discouraged
    Dont you be dismayed
    Hold on to his promises

    Wait on the Lord
    Be of good courage
    And He will strengthen your heart

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, Ariella. God is good and even when life’s circumstances are challenging, his grace abounds. He is molding me and shaping me each day. I am blessed by your words, friend! Have a great weekend.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

