30 Day Praise Challenge for Parents: Book Review and Giveaway

30 day praise challenge

God is opening my eyes to a whole new level of praise and worship. It is worship which goes beyond my circumstances and focuses on the character and nature of God- a God who never changes, whose love is everlasting, and whose thoughts are higher than my own.

This change began when I cracked open 30 Day Praise Challenge for Parents by Becky Harling. Many of the ways I praised God were challenged and stretched.

Becky’s book begins on the premise that parenting is one of the most difficult and demanding callings we will ever face. And who can question that? However, the author contests many of the struggles we go through as parents can turn into blessings if we change our mindset.

The author’s dare? Praise God.

Praise him for the characteristics in your children you see as flaws. Praise him for the difficulties. Praise him that through your weaknesses, his power rests on you and makes you strong.

Each day in the month-long challenge begins with an invitation. This part is written from the point of view the author suggests God would take toward each situation. I have to admit, when I saw how these sections were done, I was a bit wary. Writing in the voice of God is a risky undertaking.

Despite my caution, I found these sections were helpful and came directly from scripture. Each invitation is a summary of several different verses, all which are noted at the end of the segment.

After the invitation there is a Listen section, where the author makes suggestions of worship music to listen to while exalting God, praying over your child and asking Him to open your eyes to the areas where you need his guidance.

Each day is concluded with a prayer and an assignment to complete in your journal, where you record the process and reflect on everything God is doing in your family’s life.

Becky’s book opened my eyes to a lifestyle of worship which goes beyond my feelings, which are flighty and often selfish. It made me realize that when I continue to praise God even through times of trouble and turmoil, He changes me.

He transforms my heart into someone who is more like Jesus, who didn’t let suffering deter him from the work he was sent to complete. Despite his distress, he fixed his eyes on the Father.

The more I praise Him and as Becky says, “exalt Him above my life circumstances,” the more I adore Him above anything this life has to offer.

GIVEAWAY:

Today I am selecting one of my lovely readers to receive a free copy of 30 Day Praise Challenge for Parents. To enter, simply comment on this post. You can be entered into the drawing a second time by sharing on Facebook, Twitter or Google+. If you shared the post, please let me know in your comment. I will announce the winner on Tuesday, June 30th.

7 thoughts on “30 Day Praise Challenge for Parents: Book Review and Giveaway

  1. Wow, this book sounds like something I need to read, Abby. Is it more directed at parents in your stage? Or also for people like me with older kids? Turning challenges to praise is definitely something I want to grow in. Thanks for sharing about this. I love book reviews. 🙂

    Like

  2. Warm fuzzies are rising from reading your post. The power of praise…. incredible. Sounds like a good book, another one for the -to-read list 🙂

    Like

  3. I do start my day praising and thanking God for numerous blessings, but I have to admit that I never thought of praising Him for what I think are my son’s weaknesses. I’m going to start doing this right away. I know there is power in praising God! thank you!!! patsy

    Like

  4. Sweetest Abby,
    Everything you wrote sounds like a journey I need to take! Oh, how I need to embrace a lifestyle of praise and worship that goes beyond my feelings… especially during trials and turmoil. God is working on me in that very area. Thank you for the opportunity to enter your giveaway and I also tweeted about the giveaway. 🙂

    Like

  5. Abby,
    This sounds like a book I could have used 30 years ago, but even though my kids are grown they still need prayer and praise. I also need the reminder to praise and worship God – even in the thick of trials – and not wait until I “feel” like it. I have seen over the years how God has developed certain traits (like stubbornness) in my children to use that for good in their lives. My strong-willed daughter is now a great leader and teacher and boy did we lock horns when she was growing up. Again, evidence that we need to praise Him even for what we see as “flaws”. Sounds like a good read!!
    Blessings,
    Bev xx

    Like

Share your thoughts...

