When You Long for Freedom

free 2

If you are visiting from Suzie Eller’s place today, welcome! I am so glad you’re here. To kick off our week I’m going to take my #LiveFree story a little deeper and talk about some of those lies and insecurities which can hold us captive, even after we are in Christ.


One of the first friends I made as a new mom told me she began her day by looking in the mirror and repeating one truth over and over.

“I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”

By quoting God’s Word back to herself, she fought the lies and self-doubt which often bombarded her. She reminded herself who she truly was in Christ.

Even though this habit didn’t guarantee that the attacks of the enemy wouldn’t come or that her day would be free from moments of defeat, she gave herself solid ground to take her first steps. The sword of Spirit was a priority. It took its place along with the other armor of God early in her morning.

As I listened her describe this habit, I realized how even as a new believer I repeated lies back to myself instead of the truth of God’s word.

You wouldn’t have done that if you were really a follower of Jesus.

You’re never going to change. Why do you even bother trying?

God must be really disappointed in you right now.

You see friends, once we become God’s children the enemy’s work doesn’t end. And although I knew I was a new creation, I needed (and continue to need) a dose of Living Water each day to fill the vacuum which was created when I removed the filth I was consuming.

With every lie, doubt and fear I faced, I had to combat it with truth and confidence in God’s grace.

So now, when I hear a whisper of defeat saying, “I’ll never get this right,” I can say, “His grace is sufficient.”

When my feelings consume me and I don’t see progress I can say,He who began a good work in you will carry in on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

Feelings are often liars.

Each lie I tell myself must be combatted an equal and opposite truth from God’s word. And the truth doesn’t defeat me. It sets me free. It doesn’t make me want to crawl back into bed and hide. It sends me running to the One who gives life.

Here’s a truth which brings me great comfort. Will you read that soul-quenching verse from Philippians again and notice who’s doing the transformation? It’s He who’s in you. It is not our job to transform ourselves. Despite all our striving, it’s the Spirit in us who makes us change.

Our job is simply to keep seeking him. To be obedient. To worship him and hold him above all else which begs for our attention in this world.

And when we do, his Word is not vague. His Spirit’s work in us is nothing less than magnificent.

 

Photo credit: Aitor Agirregabiria / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND


Are you’re struggling to move past hurt, lies, and defeat? Is there a wound from your past that never seems to heal? There is hope, friend. I would love for you to join me for The Mended Heart online Bible study starting a week from today on June 22. You can sign up and learn more details here.

12 thoughts on “When You Long for Freedom

  1. Abby,
    I’ve been a Christian since I was 13 years old, but it has taken me a lifetime to get it through my thick head (and believe me I still struggle), that it (life, faith, trust, belief) is ALL about HIM and really not much about me. God is the One who made me, fearfully and wonderfully, and He is the One who authors and perfects my faith, and He is the One who transforms me. My job, is to abide in Him and wait expectantly for what He is going to perform through me. It truly does set you free. Wonderful post!!
    Love you,
    Bev xx

    Like

    • Bev, this is something I’m constantly having to remind myself. His love truly is amazing, isn’t it? Thanks so much for your continual encouragement, dear friend. You are a blessing.

      Like

  2. Happy Monday, Abby! What a great reminder to start the week:) It’s true that we carry the weight of our mistakes and allow that to condemn us. I LOVE what you pointed out here. It’s the Spirit that does a work within us. Praise God! Thanks for this lesson today, friend.

    Like

    • Yes, praise God! So thankful for the work of his Spirit. I truly am not the same person I once was. Thanks for your encouragement here, Kristine. You bless me, friend!

      Like

  3. How exciting to see you at Suzie’s place today! Thanks for sharing your struggle and your journey towards God’s truth. I’ve found it so liberating in recent years to ask God to show me what specific lies I’m believing, to write them down, and ask him to speak His truth. It has been so life-changing. I keep struggling, but I’m moving forward!

    Like

  4. ((HUGS)) Love seeing you continue the story here from Suzie’s place. Good, good stuff, Abby. I had to smile because many times I’ve told God, “Thank you for fearfully and wonderfully making me.” It was an affirmation, just as your friend did. God is good, When His truth sinks in, the view changes. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. Thanks so much for sharing, I needed this!! It just amazes me how much better my day goes when I spend time with Him first thing in the morning, it’s so much easier to handle anything that comes my way!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

