Is God Sovereign?

graphic for katie reid

I am terrible at the silent treatment.

If there were a contest to see who could stay silent toward an adversary the longest, I would definitely lose. I just don’t have it in me. Conflict makes me anxious and uncomfortable.

It’s funny how what is painful with our loved ones is often perfectly normal with God, isn’t it?

I gave God the silent treatment for the better part of a decade.

Sure, I sent up a sparse prayer every few months when life became particularly difficult, but mostly I said nothing. I remained speechless because I was angry.

Although I wasn’t fully aware of it at the time, I tried to manipulate God. I was convinced that if he was who he said he was, he would do something.

Will you continue reading with me? Today I’m honored to be sharing the rest of my story at The Tightly Wound Woman. You can read the rest of my story here.

 

*Joining Susan B. Mead’s #DanceWithJesusLinkup and Barbie Swihart’s Weekend Brew to encourage and be encouraged.

One thought on “Is God Sovereign?

  1. Oftentimes, the way that we’re struck by life’s crushing circumstances may get us into situation where we even start question God’s sovereignty. The reason is that it’s as if something has just slipped from His absolute control over everything. Nevertheless, we can find great comfort in knowing that our life’s issues didn’t catch Him by surprise. Most importantly, they didn’t come without Him allowing it. Therefore, there’s always a way out if we’re willing to trust Him by developing an attitude of praising Him in every situation we’re going through.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

