Do I Let Them Fall?

graphic for lisa brown blog

The longer we sat, the more frustrated my son became. My tiredness came through in my tone and I fought my desire to take the book away from him and finish the reading myself.

“Sound it out, buddy. You can do this.”

He slowly mouthed each consonant and vowel of the next word. Then he came to a more difficult sentence and his impatience mounted again.

“What’s this word, Mama?” he asked with his long eyelashes batting up toward me. He knew exactly how to break me.

“No, you can read it. We’ve gone through this.”

He grunted and turned his face back toward the book. I wondered how long we’d been sitting there.

Every night since my oldest son was an infant, we’d engaged in this ritual. The bedtime story. Only recently, the role of reading had gone from Daddy and me to child.

Today I’m sharing what I learned from story time at Me Too Moments for Moms. You can read the rest of my post here.

 

*Picture courtesy of Derek & Diane Photography (text added)

*Linking up with Kelly Balarie, Jennifer Dukes Lee, and Holley Gerth to encourage and be encouraged. Come join us.

6 thoughts on “Do I Let Them Fall?

  1. Abby this is such a beautiful story and I am so happy for you and your son! It is great that he is the best reader in his class and perseverance has allowed him to share this joy with his class. You are a wonderful mother Abby 🙂 Keep going and running that race of motherhood! I pray that one day I can apply this to my children 🙂 God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth, you make me smile with your sweet words today. Thank you and I am so happy that he has come to love reading. It truly is a joy to see him pick up a book on his own and want to read it.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, I STILL battle with this one–and our daughters are in their 20s. But it’s a form of abuse to do everything for your children because it doesn’t prepare them for life. Fortunately, I have a wise and godly husband who calls me on it when I start ‘doing things’ for our girls and I’m able to step back and keep my mouth shut ;).

    Like

  3. Wise words, Abby. Its such a hard thing to let them fall, but we won’t always be there to hover and pick them up. Independence from us is dependence on God and while I hope I always have the opportunity to and privilege of gently nudging my son in the right direction, I know that I know that He needs to look to God for direction always. Its such a bittersweet thing, isn’t it. Thanks for sharing, friend.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

