When You Can’t Stop Worrying, Read This

image001

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV)

As I began my morning praying God’s Word, I didn’t foresee the news that would come later that afternoon. I didn’t realize how much I would need to hold on to the promise woven into Philippians 4:6-7. But God knew.

As the verse came to me, the words didn’t seem to resonate deeply within my peace-filled heart. I knew these words to be true, but I wasn’t worried or anxious about anything. Nonetheless I prayed the words and went on with my normal routine.

Later that afternoon, my dad called. His usual pleasantries about the weather and questions about the grandkids were short this time. My mom was in the hospital. The symptoms pointed to a stroke, but the doctors were still unsure.

Hours of waiting and tests would ensue before we’d know anything. Only thing is I’m not a waiter. I am a doer. When life unravels and reels out of control, I do anything within my power to fix the situation. When situations cannot be fixed, I worry. Subconsciously, I believe I’m exercising some sort of direction over circumstances I can’t possibly change. My parents lived over 500 miles away. Even the desire to simply jump in my car and be present was not feasible at the time.

I am honored to be sharing more of what I learned about the power of prayer over at Proverbs 31 Ministries today. Click here to read the rest of my post.

12 thoughts on “When You Can’t Stop Worrying, Read This

  1. This was so beautiful! Sometimes I feel like that verse in phillippians was written directly to me! I’m anxious for everything, than you for this blog post, very encouraging!

    Like

  2. God knew you needed to read those words that day. He always knows what is best, doesn’t He? I’m so glad you shared these verses. He always brings peace when we trust in Him. And thank you for visiting my blog. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I think sometimes we don’t realize prayer is actually doing something and while many times we are called to take action outside of prayer, when often prayer is the very best action we can take. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, Jessie. And yes, it is hard being so far away but in many ways it has made me stronger. Blessings to you, friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your story, Abby! Phil. 4:6-7 has been one of my anchor verses from the time I was a teenager. I love how focusing on God in prayer for others takes the worry away!

    Like

    • It has become an anchor verse for me too, Anita. So good. And yes, it is a mystery, isn’t it? But one I’m so grateful for. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here today.

      Like

  4. Good post, Abby. It is difficult when you are midst of a problem to pull up the Lord’s promises but it appears you stood firm on His Word when you needed it the most. I’m glad to hear that your mom is doing fine.

    Like

    • Yes, it is hard, Mary, but I’m so glad I had that verse memorized and was able to lean on its truth during my time of need. He is faithful. Thank you for stopping here and have a great weekend.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

