More Blessed to Give?

giver

Three is going to be harder than two. Two weeks in, and I can already tell.

Maybe it’s the way he drops down to an army crawl every time I attempt to grab him to put on his shoes, get him ready for bed, or put on his jacket. Maybe it’s the way he fights me on every. single. thing. imaginable.

I’m learning to appreciate the little moments. Like the other day when he was watching Pajanimals, and he simply burst out in dance, song, and excitement when his favorite bedtime song played.

I could not stop laughing. Or smiling.

God gave me this gift that is so much life and spice and personality. So much fighting and testing and unpredictability.

And I want to give him the world.Β 

“It is more blessed to give than to receive.”

How often do we just dismiss that as a trite saying? Something to be discarded and thrown away.

How often do we fail to realize it’s not just the material things we give, but the giving of ourselves that matters?

I want to give him the world.

When we give of ourselves, we become more like the ultimate Giver.

We become more like the One who gave everything and expected nothing.

Can you think of anything more beautiful?

 

*Linking up with Five Minute Friday. A beautiful group of writers who free write for five minutes each Friday on one word. Today’s word was: give.

16 thoughts on “More Blessed to Give?

    • Your comments are always such an encouragement to me, Bev. Yes, I do need to remind myself of this often and it’s in those little moments that I often remember who blessed I really am. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. xoxo

      Like

  1. Lovely thoughts! You say you want to give your toddler the world; in this season of his life, YOU are his world. Giving yourself is just what he needs. God bless you and yours during this most wonderful time of the year.

    Like

  2. Oh, Abby. That’s so beautiful. I love your description of your son. Reminds me so much of my own so many years ago. Giving of ourselves and finding joy in the giving is what makes life so sweet. So thankful for a God who gives so generously. So thankful for the opportunity to follow in His footsteps. Praying for a weekend filled with sweet gifts!

    Like

  3. Your son is blessed to have such a wonderful mom, Abby. I know he is. It’s true that it’s more blessed to give than to receive, but it’s hard to really live it, isn’t it? This afternoon I spent 3 hours helping my son finish his last university application, and at first I was kind of begrudging it, but then I thought, “Well, you’re a mother, aren’t you? Isn’t this what mothers do?” May the Lord give you joy as you continue giving.

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words, Betsy. You bless me, friend. It is hard to live it and I’m so grateful for God’s patience with me. I hope you have a beautiful Advent season.

      Like

  4. Three!! It was harder than two for us too because our son wanted so much to explore and move and run without any boundaries. Then in a blink he’s 11 and wants to explore and move and run without any boundaries. Lol…its a whole new hard! God gives us the strength to give them all of us at every stage. And you are so right…we want to give the world! Blessings, friend!!

    Like

    • Yes, he does, doesn’t he? 11, wow. I have a little time before that stage even with my oldest who is six but I know it will be here before I know it. Blessings to you too, girl. Wishing you a beautiful season.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I had to laugh, because I could totally picture your son fighting you on every last thing. πŸ™‚
    And yeah, Jesus is so backwards. Upside-down. counter to our natural inclination. I’m praying for you right now, that each day of December, you will see new ways to give of yourself.

    Like

  6. So true!!! We give of ourselves when we give everything we are and designed to be. Thanks so much for the reminder today. I forget sometimes that I am enough for my kids. I am better than any toy from the store. I can go shopping or I can play with my children.

    Like

    • Oh yes, although there are days when I just need a few hours shopping by myself. πŸ˜‰ So grateful my husband gives me that time when I need it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here, Lisa. I hope you have a beautiful Christmas season filled with joyful memories.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

