Why Should I Care?

Spirit

“Above all, love one another deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 3:10

There are days when I don’t like myself very much. I laugh at inappropriate situations. When circumstances are awkward. I laugh to release the tension and then people look at me like I’m crazy.

I say the wrong thing and then wonder why I opened my mouth in the first place. Sometimes I just say whatever pops into my head at the moment.

There are days when I fail miserably as a friend, wife, and mother.

But you know what? In spite of all of these moments when I feel like I never should have gotten out of bed, I love. I love my community. My readers. My family and friends. My church. I care deeply for them and the details of their lives.

Even though I’m not always the best listener, I am trying to get better. I try to not just wait for my turn to speak.

Each time I make a decision to love and to focus outwardly, the Spirit wins. It rises above the selfishness of my flesh. And I am filled with joy because I am becoming less like myself and more like Christ.

He’s not finished with me yet. Even when I laugh loudly, look around, and realize no one else is laughing with me. Even when I make a dry joke that no one else understands.

He’s right there. Nudging me in his gentle way to keep focusing outward. To not focus so much on my mistakes, but the goal I am racing towards.

*This post was written for Five Minute Friday. A beautiful group of brave, bold writers who meet each Friday to free write for five minutes on one word. Today’s word was: care. Click the button below to learn more.

20 thoughts on “Why Should I Care?

  1. Don’t I know it! Those awkward moments where I’m the only one laughing! πŸ™‚

    I’m so thankful for His patience with us and we grow into His likeness! Thank you for these words! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. So much of your post describes me: laughing out of nervousness, saying the wrong thing. I wasn’t always a good listener, but God has helped me a lot with that. I think He was preparing me for a specific friend who just needs someone to listen, someone she can trust not to turn around and tell others what she’s said.

    We’re almost FMF neighbors. On the same street, but not next door. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I’m glad I was down the street from you, Melissa. πŸ˜‰ It is amazing the way God works, isn’t it? He puts people in our lives at just the right time. Thanks for visiting today.

      Like

  3. “And I am filled with joy because I am becoming less like myself and more like Christ.” Amen! And thank goodness He is never done working in us to make us more like His son. There was much “me too’s” going on over here as I read your post. Have a blessed Friday, Abby. Much love. xoxo

    Like

  4. One of the best pieces of advice I’ve ever been given is “Listening is not just waiting for your turn to speak”. I am so much like the you that you’ve described. My jokes are far too often inappropriate out of nervousness. And laughter can come at the absolute worst time. But I feel the Lessons and the Touch and once I can finally forgive myself – He helps me get better. Such an honest, brave post.

    Like

  5. Abby! My teen son tells me that when I run into someone at the grocery store, I have this ‘awkward laugh’ that I do:) Your post made me smile this morning. Thank God for his love and patience!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

