Five Minute Friday: Ready

ready

 

“Do you believe Mormons are Christians?” The question left me fumbling for words, not knowing what to say to this person who I’d just met weeks before. Her faith had been attacked by someone who no doubt called themselves “Christian” and yet their actions said otherwise.

I didn’t know what to say. At this point in my life, my faith was so small. So wavering. I told her I knew so little about what they believed I didn’t feel like I could answer. This was true. But it also left me feeling like a cop out.

The conversation left me with one realization. I wasn’t ready. And I needed to be. I needed to know the reason for the faith I had, however small it may be. I needed to know the answer for my hope. I needed to be able to say with confidence who my hope was in.

Over the next few years, I dove into scripture. That little mustard seed grew and became rooted in the deep, long and wide love of Jesus. I realized that when the King arrives with a sword coming out of his mouth and the trumpet sounds, there’s only going to be one question that matters.

Are you ready?

And the answer to that question depends on one thing. Who is your King?

I believe that when Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life,” he meant it. And I believe in a God who is just, loving, and knows each person’s heart.

No one knows the hour or the day. But I can now say with confidence I am ready.

 

*This post was written for Five Minute Friday. A beautiful, bold group of writers who meet each week to free write for five minutes on one word. Today’s word was: ready. Click the button below to learn more.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ready

  1. Abby- Amen! Yes, the only way to be ready is to know the King. Thank you for this message today- beautifully shared! Happy Friday!

    Like

  2. To have such confidence is amazing! I feel like I am “ready” to a certain extent, but in other ways, I still feel like there are other ways that I need to go back and do in a better way. Make certain things “right” or “better”. I feel like He constructed us to be a work-in-progress, always. Love this! Coming over from FMF πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, there are certainly some days when I don’t feel as ready. πŸ˜‰ I am so grateful God is patient with me and gives me the wisdom I lack. Thanks for stopping here today, Liz!

      Like

    • Thank you so much, Rachel! That was such an encouraging email to receive and gave me the extra push that I needed. πŸ˜‰ Yes, he is so patient and I am grateful for that. Have a great weekend, friend. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amen, Abby! I appreciate your honest, your transparency and how you shared God’s truth through your words! It’s a good feeling to know we’re ready, but there are so many in our lives who aren’t. Praying God readies them in His timing! Blessings on your Friday, friend!

    Like

    • Yes, Julie. I think about those who aren’t ready often and I pray that the love of God is apparent in my life. Thank you so much for your words today. You are a blessing, friend!

      Like

    • I always looking forward to reading your posts and hearing from you too, Lisa! Thank you so much and yes, I am not garden variety either. πŸ˜‰ So grateful that God loves us all, and only desires the best for each of us. Happy Friday!

      Like

  4. You are right Abby, we did have similar thoughts on the word “ready”. I love this, “I realized that when the King arrives with a sword coming out of his mouth and the trumpet sounds, there’s only going to be one question that matters.” Amen Sister. I am ready and waiting patiently!!!

    Like

  5. Hi Abby! Wow, a challenging question can really send you into a tailspin, can’t it? But you took this challenge and went right to Scripture. How great that you feel ‘ready’. The bible asks us to be prepared with answers to questions of faith, and you sure are doing that. You inspire me to do the same!
    Blessings,
    Ceil

    Like

  6. Reading your words, I kept thinking of the verse “be ready in season and out of season” and thinking of how that does look different in various seasons of our life. What is He calling me to be ready with right now?
    Thanks for your post which has me thinking!
    Glad to visit from FMF.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

