For the One Who’s Afraid of Failing

faith

As I stepped away from the highly esteemed author, I could not wait to read the inscription he wrote in my book. I opened the crisp new pages and found a reference to a verse I was not familiar with. Luke 1:45. I walked quickly to my room and flipped open my Bible.

When I found the verse, I felt as though this writer somehow knew me. Like he’d seen the inner workings of my mind. My doubt and worry. My wavering faith in the midst of the unknown.

“Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”Β 

How did he know? How did he see? He didn’t. But God did. It was day one of a much anticipated writer’s conference.Β At that moment, I needed a reminder that when I placed my faith in God’s promises instead of my own abilities, beautiful things happen. Things beyond my wildest imagination.

Even months before the conference, God was using the most unlikely people to remind me how far his promises go. When I described my self-doubt in a blog post in March, I received this comment from a reader who just happened to stop by my website on that particular day:

“Go to the conference with a song in your heart, holding lightly to your hopes and dreams and tightly to God’s promises.Β Sounds like the two work against each other, but His promises go further than our dreams. He is ever our Hope. He who has called you will do it.”

Whenever I need a word of encouragement or a push to continue forward, God never fails to deliver. And this first day at She Speaks was no different. He was right there with me, letting me know through a person who didn’t know me from the next woman in line that God’s promises still stood.

Big dreams are usually accompanied by big fears. And God knew my biggest fear. The fear of failure. The fear that I would never achieve what I hoped. More than that, that I wouldn’t achieve what He planned for me.

But you see, his promises not only go further than our dreams, they go further than our fears.

When we place our faith in God instead of our abilities, there is no limit to how far He can take us.

We can be confident in even in the unknown because of the rock on which we stand. Jesus. He has gone behind and before. He knows what lies ahead even when we cannot see around the next corner.

God desires one thing from us. Obedience. If there is a desire burning in your heart to do something for Him that is greater than you ever thought possible, there is a reason. As Christine Caine so beautifully put it, “If God has assigned you, He will find you.” He does not need us to go twenty steps ahead. He simply needs us to take the first one.

Abide and He will guide.

Take that next step, and He will take your hand.

 

*Linking up Suzie Eller today as we talk about risks.

 

49 thoughts on “For the One Who’s Afraid of Failing

  1. Abby,
    “Abide and He will guide.” Love it!! Abide is one of my most favorite words. I used to be deathly afraid of failing (yes, I was a perfectionist) until God really brought it home that I am only perfect through his Son and through my abiding in Him. Great post today!!
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Like

    • Yes, Bev! I can so relate. It is a lesson he has certainly been driving home for me. Especially since becoming a mom. Thank you so much for your encouragement!

      Like

  2. You are delivering a message that I know God has been trying to get me to understand for months now. I woke up recently and realized that, once again, I’ve been relying totally on myself, and then wondering why the pieces aren’t fitting together. I struggle to trust that His promises are bigger than my dreams because my dreams are BIG! But deep down I know that what He has planned for me is way, way better.

    Like

    • I get it, Katie. Truly, I do. I am often slowing in learning this but the more I get little glimpses of what God can do, the more amazed I am. Keep writing, girl! You will go far. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Thank you for posting this amazingly encouraging message from God! I can relate to this line:

    “The fear that I would never achieve what I hoped. More than that, that I wouldn’t achieve what He planned for me.”

    I’ve had to surrender this to Him, because I don’t want to spend hundreds of hours doing anything that subtracts from His true plan for me.

    You are an awesome writer Abby, and such a blessing to all of us.

    Like

    • Oh yes, surrender. It is so hard yet brings so much peace, as I have found. You are such an encouragement to me, Doris. Thank you for blessing me with your kind words today! I anticipate great things for all of my Compel sisters. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this;
    “When we place our faith in God instead of our abilities, there is no limit to how far He can take us.”
    It’s exciting to see what God can do in our lack of ability. If only we’d let Him.

    Great encouraging post Abby! Thank you for being obedient in writing.

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words today, Barbara! That fear is so often there at first, but I’m so glad I took that first step. Looking forward to seeing where this journey takes each of us.

      Like

  5. Amen, sister. Just where I am, just what I needed today. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. This line: “God desires one thing from us. Obedience. If there is a desire burning in your heart to do something for Him that is greater than you ever thought possible, there is a reason.” God spoke through YOUR words today directly to my heart, and I’m grateful.
    So glad we’ve connected via Twitter and our blogs. Sounds like there are some similarities in our journeys right now for sure. Bless you as you travel one step at a time.

    Like

    • Yes, Ashley! Thank you so much for visiting. I’m so glad my words spoke to you where you’re at today. That is always my desire, to touch even one person and for God to speak to her. Looking forward to connecting with you more.

      Like

  6. This is so beautiful Abby! Yes, if we are just obedient to take the first step, all the others He will allow to fall in place. Thank you for this reminder and I’m so glad you took that first step of faith. Your words are so needed and such a blessing. Always. And they will continue to be used for His glory. Love you, mb

    Like

  7. Abby- thank you for this. Fear is so powerful that we forget that God is more. I loved your words here: “When we place our faith in the right place, we can be confident in even in the unknown.” Thank you for your courageous obedience here- where you honestly share your heart. Loved this!

    Like

    • Yes, I always try to be honest here, Karen. Sometimes I’m more honest on here than I am face to face. πŸ˜‰ Funny how that works. I am working on it though. Thank you so much for your kind words today! Always love hearing from you.

      Like

  8. Thank you so much for this, Abby. I needed this encouragement today. I loved what your reader wrote: … His promises go further than our dreams. He is ever our Hope. He who has called you will do it. My mom always reminds me of the last part, but I often forget about it.

    Like

  9. I love that Luke verse, Abby. This is a great faith message. “Forward with Faith” is my phrase for this year. (Faith, actually.) It’s comforting to believe that He’ll take our hands as we take that first step. Let’s keep going forward!

    Like

  10. Just like Katie – when things get frazzled I start relying on myself – not even making time for God and then wondering why things are working out. Thank you for sharing this reminder. I hope someday to get to that place where I don’t need reminders, but until then, I am so glad for your words and encouragement to us all.

    Like

    • Oh yes, I’ve done that so many times. I’m so grateful that as it says in Lamentations, his mercies are new every morning. I think I will always need those reminders, and I’m so grateful that he provides them! Thanks so much for your words today.

      Like

  11. If Mary could believe that amazing promise the Lord gave her, then why is it so difficult for us to believe His promises to us? Love this post Abby! Thanks for your awesome encouragement for me today.

    Like

  12. There’s a chorus in a John Mayer song that goes “Pain throws your heart to the ground/Love turns the whole thing around/Fear is a friend who’s misunderstood, but I know the heart of life is good.” Being on a praise and worship team, I tune into finely crafted phrases, and those contemporary words bring me back to those of Hosea 11:4, and 1 Thessalonians 5:11

    Bless you for blessing me, Abby πŸ™‚

    Rick

    Like

  13. holding lightly to your hopes and dreams and tightly to God’s promises. Sounds like the two work against each other, but His promises go further than our dreams. He is ever our Hope. He who has called you will do it.”

    Oh my the above quote carries such truth which will bring freedom when we do exactly what you said. Good read. Glad I stopped by.

    Like

  14. Thanks for your inspiring words, Abby. Fear of failure is what holds most of us back most of the time. I love that comment from your reader. Sound advice. I have yet to go to a writer’s conference–I have always felt somehow inadequate, like I don’t have enough written yet. But I’m going this year. For sure!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

