When Life Gets Loud

whisper

I thrive in quiet spaces. A good book can envelop me for hours, and although I love community, I have no issue with being alone for long expanses of time. And in a house with too young boys, this does not happen very often.

They are loud. They demand my attention. They fight and whine and ask me for snacks every five minutes. And I wouldn’t trade it for the world. But to find that quiet space, I have to be intentional.

We live in a culture that is noisy. Not just audibly, but mentally as well. It can drain you in the worst possible way. We are constantly being bombarded with images and ideas of how we are supposed to live, look, and feel.

If we don’t look how we’re supposed to look or feel how we’re supposed to feel, there is always a quick, easy solution. Always. A diet. A pill. An eight minute work out routine. Endless possibilities for endless headaches.

Here’s the thing. When I hear God speak to me, it’s usually in a whisper. Not a loud, booming voice. Not on a billboard. Sometimes, when I’m deaf to anything else, yes, but most of the time it’s still and small.

He whispers in a little nudge to call a friend I haven’t spoken to in months. He prods me to stay silent instead of blurting out the first thing that pops into my head. He speaks to me in the silence of the morning when no one else is awake.

He’s there in the sunsets and the first hints of fall. Always speaking. If we have ears to listen.

He’s whispering your name.

 

*This post was written for Five Minute Friday. A beautiful, bold group of writers who free write for five minutes every week on one word. Today’s word was: whisper. Click the button below to learn more.

13 thoughts on “When Life Gets Loud

  1. I’m reading this, with a toddler in my lap, whining about having his hair cut. I so crave quiet time, myself. I need the alone, the quiet the peace…and rarely get it! I’m reminded that this is just a season, and seasons pass…to enjoy it. But sometimes you just need a moment to breathe in quiet. A moment to remember what peace feels like. Thanks for this!!

    Your neighbor at FMF this week!

    Peggy

    Like

  2. Abby,
    Your 5 minutes of writing was my still small voice today! I have had painters painting the exterior of my house and I have felt like a fish in a fish bowl. I, too,, like my quiet, away time and it hasn’t come until just now. I give you big kudos for being able to even think coherent thoughts and write with two young boys 🙂
    Blessings,
    Bev

    Like

    • Thanks for making me smile, Bev. I’m glad that you got five minutes. And yes, I surprise myself with coherent thoughts too. 😉 Have a wonderful weekend.

      Like

  3. Oh, that whisper. To master the art of being still long enough to hear it…then obey. It never returns void, but I shutter to think of the ignored opportunities. It’s a practiced art, a daily choice, knowing that He has a word just for us…one we don’t want to miss. Thank you for the reminder!!

    Like

  4. Yes- the world offers quick and easy, but through patience and humble, rough waiting … He offers far more. I loved your words here…beautiful, thoughtful post.

    Like

  5. Abby, your words never cease to meet me right where I’m at and remind me of right where I need to be. I’ve thought the same things lately…how much God is all around me and then hearing that still small voice prompting me to do something or stop to see something I would otherwise miss. So thankful God does that for us. Whispers loud enough for us to hear…<3 you, mb

    Like

    • I love hearing that I meet you where you’re at, Meredith. That is my prayer as I write, that it will reach someone where they are. You are such a blessing to me and I thank God for fellow writing friends like you who keep pushing me to move forward. Love you. xoxo

      Like

Share your thoughts...

