The Day I Used Prayer As a Last Resort

prayer

I remember the phone call like it was yesterday. My husband was driving down a highway in northern Utah and I was on the other end of the line, sitting behind a desk in Columbia, South Carolina. Panicked.

As much as I hate to admit it, I am a woman who thrives on routine. Take me out of my routine, and I get flustered. At this point, my husband was about to interview for a job that was over 2,000 miles away from the town where I’d spent my entire life. Twenty-seven years of memories. Twenty-seven years of relative sameness.

Everything about my routine was about to be rocked in every way, shape and form.

In a rushed, anxious tone, I explained to him that I had no place to work in Utah. How were we going to live on one income? Where were we going to live?

He seemed unfazed.

“Sweetheart, it will be okay. Have faith.” His calmness had never been more irritating. But something told me he was right.

At that point in my life, my relationship with God was broken, at best. But I still prayed. I prayed when I didn’t know what else to do.

And just like that, God answered.

Within an hour of the conversation with my husband, I had an interview in Salt Lake City. A position had just opened for the exact same job I was currently in.

Call it coincidence. I call it divine providence.

Even when we turn our backs on God for years, He still pursues us. And even when a prayer is said with just a minuscule bit of faith, He sometimes chooses to answer in a way only He can.

Prayer opens a door for the invisible God to make himself visible through us.

It allows heaven to touch earth, and when the answers come for God’s people to see, to know that what just took place could only be the hand of God moving and working through us.

But we have to watch. We have to wait for a response and expect it to come. Even if the answer is not what we want.

Colossians 4:2 says, “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” (NIV) At this point in my life, I was far from devoted. I was less than lukewarm.

But when I saw the inexplicable way God answered my plea, He grabbed my attention in a way I’d never experienced. That day, God become visible. And I was thirsty for more.

 

*Linking up with Kelly Balarie & Friends. Come join us and be inspired. 

38 thoughts on “The Day I Used Prayer As a Last Resort

  1. Abby, there is so much truth in this post! Prayer is a privilege, but more than that it is a magnificient blessing. God’s way of reaching down to us in a very real way. Thanks for reminding me of God’s amazing provision. And to always reach up to Him in prayer.

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouragement, always, Sabra! So often I’ve been guilty of praying and not being watchful for God’s response, but this is one time in my life when he made it impossible to miss it. 😉

      Like

  2. love that – prayer makes God visible thru us and to us – thanks for your encouragement. neighbors on Welcomeheart this morning in California!

    Like

  3. What a GREAT STORY, Abby! This sounds like many conversations I have with my husband. (He’s always open for change; I’m always digging in my heels for things to stay the same. 🙂 ) God hears his children!

    Like

    • Yes he does, Betsy! And yes, Chris is usually the one who is more open to change. 🙂 I was more easily swayed with the second cross-country move, though. Thank you so much for your encouragement here.

      Like

  4. Thank you for this reminder today, friend! God hears and answers. I’m so grateful He does, and I appreciate your story here. Such hope and truth! What a day you’ll always remember… when God became visible! Thank you again for sharing your heart through your words!

    Like

    • Yes, it definitely sticks out in my head as one of those days sacked me over the head and said, “Hello!” 😉 Thanks so much for your encouragement, Julie! You are a blessing.

      Like

  5. Wow, Abby, that really is divine providence! What an amazing story—and an important reminder to keep our eyes and ears open to the ways God will reveal Himself in our lives.

    Like

    • Oh yes, he definitely blew my socks off that day, Bev! He is so awesome and sometimes He just has to beat us over the head. 😉 Thanks so much for stopping here today. Things are going well!

      Like

  6. Abby, I loved this! Why do we think of prayer as our tool, when it’s really His? This line says it all: “Prayer opens a door for the invisible God to make himself visible through us.” Great post… and so skillfully crafted.

    Like

    • So lovely to see your face here, Karen! Thank you for your encouragement and kind words. And yes, it is his tool; He designed it, but so often we get that fact confused.

      Like

  7. I love this for so many reasons, Abby. Mainly because I have been there. I have been in a broken (at best) relationship with God and cried out and He answered as only He could. It’s so true…we think we have to be in perfect harmony with Him to hear us and to care and to answer, and that’s just not true. He loves us always. He longs for us to cry out to Him. He also revels in revealing just how great a God He is. I’m so glad you shared this story today…now I want to hear the rest of it! Thank you for sharing…always an encouragement and I can always related. And I also don’t believe in coincidence…not anymore, anyway. 😉

    Like

    • I love learning new things about you too, Meredith. And I will definitely tell you more of the story sometime. 😉 Yes, I am so grateful God hears me even when I am not faithful. There may be consequences, but he always hears us. Love you, girl. xoxo

      Like

  8. I can totally relate…I’ve lived in the Nashville area my entire life. My husband’s corporate headquarters is in Charleston, South Carolina–a city I LOVE. I wouldn’t want to leave my mom, who lives here, but that’s the only thing tying me here, aside from fearing change!

    Like

    • I love Charleston too, Stephanie. My husband and I always say that if we ever move back to SC, we’d like to live in Charleston or Greenville. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  9. I’m glad that God came through for you with your prayers in your time of need. You always hear, “call out to Jesus in your times of need and he will answer you” and stuff like that, and for you he did. I just wish that he would hear my prayers too. I have certainly called out to him in desperation, even begging him for his help, but he has done nothing. He doesn’t seem to care. I just wish he would do something to help me like he did with you because I definitely need it…

    Like

    • I am so sorry to hear you’re going through a difficult time. This is one example in my life where God answered in a way that was undeniable, but there have been many times in my life where the answer didn’t seem to come or it didn’t come in the way I expected. I can tell you that sometimes it takes time before I see the response, but when I look back I can see how God’s hand worked in my life even when I didn’t realize it right away. I’m praying for you today, and I hope that you find his peace and see the evidence that He is there in the midst of whatever it is you’re going through. Much love.

      Like

  10. Beautiful, simple truth. This is the reminder I needed today! To recall the times God has been so faithful. I’m also a routine thriving person. Lately I have had to remind myself that God is never too early, He’s never too late, He’s always on time. I’m stopping by from #RaRalinkup.

    Like

  11. “Call it coincidence. I call it divine providence.” Amen!! God always knows what we need when we need it!! Always enjoy reading your posts! keep writing and shining for Him!
    Blessings to you sweet friend! Danise

    Like

  12. What an awesome testimony of God making Himself visible through prayer 🙂 Thank you for sharing Abby. I do not make prayer a priority in my life nearly enough and hate that prick of conviction when my husband says: “Have you prayed about it?” and I have to respond “No”. It is my heart’s desire to make prayer my first conversation in every situation! #RaRaLinkup 🙂

    Like

  13. This is great inspiration in prayer, Abby! I love how God can just unlock any door at any time. We should go in believing he has the power to do anything! He does make himself visible too through prayer. I love that insight. I want to see more of him. Cheering you on from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

