When You Wonder If You’ll Ever Reach the Finish Line

reach

A couple of weeks ago I told my husband I felt like I was just treading water. I was pushing and pushing but not going anywhere. Exerting effort but not seeing progress.

The land I thought I saw in the distance was simply a mirage. I could only see water and I wasn’t sure how much longer I could keep swimming.

He told me even though I couldn’t see the shore, it was still there. That’s how much he loves me. And that’s how much God loves me. When I don’t think I can go any more, he reminds me he’s still there. Right in the midst of the struggle.

When we have a goal in our minds, we often strive and strive until we completely exhaust ourselves. With roles like mothering and writing, there is often a cyclical pattern that makes us feel as though we’re not accomplishing anything. We write the same things over and over using different words. We pick up the same toys over and over at different times of the day.

Sometimes in all our reaching for more, we forget God has already reached the finish line.

The debt has already been paid. He has overcome.

We can find rest in the peace of his presence. We can be overwhelmed with the joy of who He is. And realize that we can’t earn something that’s already been given.

In all our striving we often miss what’s right in front of us. But when we stop and pay attention, he’s right there waiting.

 

*This post was written for Five Minute Friday. A beautiful group of writers who meet each week to free write for five minutes on one word. Today’s word was: reach. Click the button below to learn more.

 

15 thoughts on “When You Wonder If You’ll Ever Reach the Finish Line

  1. This is so true. I have been in the process to find rest in my circumstances. It’s a beautiful process. I have looked forward to the finish line… but I am realizing there is no finish line. It’s not about the finish line. It’s about embracing life.

    Glad 5 Minute Friday send me over Abby.
    God bless!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad that God reaches down and encourages us just when we need it–I can’t remember the number of times he’s done this for me. And you’re right–we don’t DO because we think it will make us winners–we DO because God has already won!

    Like

  3. I so relate to the feeling of treading water – the land ahead only being a mirage and aimlessly swimming, feeling lost and exhausted. I often feel like Peter – I so desperately want to follow Jesus so I step bravely out onto the water and I walk toward him but then I allow the stress of life to pull me under. And you’re so right, I just have to remember to look up in the moment because Jesus is always there reaching out.

    Great post!

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Balloons within my Reach | Jodie Dye

  5. It is so true that in all our striving, we often miss what’s right in front of us. Yes, Abby! How many times have I overlooked what is staring me right in the face…needing my attention, needing me to say “yes” to and say “no” to something else. And yes, there is always dry land within distance even when it seems like we will surely drown before we reach it. I’m with you in the treading most days…and thankful for the reminder that there is always rest ahead. As always, great words from you Abby! xoxo, mb

    Like

    • Thank you, girl. Right now I’m trying to just embrace each moment as the gift it truly is. It isn’t always easy, but it’s worth it. Have an awesome Sunday, friend. xoxo

      Like

  6. It’s crazy how we exhaust ourselves when the battle has already been won. As a mother and writer I too am often in that place of striving, striving, striving—and yet feeling like I’m not getting anywhere. A lovely reminder that the race is already over, and I’m siding with the winner.

    Like

    • Yes, I am so grateful to be pushing ahead from victory instead of for victory. I know that my nature will get the better of me sometimes, but I’m grateful God continues to teach me. Thank you for your thoughts, Katie.

      Like

  7. I was just picking up the remnants of a Sunday…the same things I pick up every Sunday at bedtime. I was feeling a bit exhausted by it…until I stopped by. Great post and wonderful reminder – I really needed this! Thanks Abby!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

