The Change Starts With Me

3673584971_5ceb555487_z

Helpless. Devastated. Dark. That’s how I feel when I turn on the news lately. People are being persecuted around the globe for their faith. Iconic entertainers are taking their own lives. Poverty. Oppression. When will it end? When will a change come?

There is a song by a legendary pop star which says, “If you want to make the world a better place, then take a look at yourself and then make a change.” Take a look at yourself.

God has given me a sphere of influence right here. Right where I am. My children. My community. My friends and family. And most of all, myself. Certainly I can change myself? Yes, this I can do.

My attitude. My prayer life. My time spent with the One who can change the world with one breath.

The decisions I make today will affect tomorrow. And the day after. What choices are waiting to be made?

Let me approach each one with prayer. Because God has given me this one life.

Let me make a difference for Him.

 

*This post was written for Five Minute Friday. A beautiful group of bold writers who meet each Friday to free write for five minutes on one word. Today’s word was: change. Click the button below to learn more.

*Photo Source

16 thoughts on “The Change Starts With Me

  1. You are right, Abby. We should be able to at least change ourselves, right? I find this the hardest thing to do somedays…and the most needed. For my marriage, family and home. For me to be able to be used where I am needed most to be who I was created to be. Thank you for these thoughts…very well said today. Your words are moving me…still. Love you, mb

    Like

    • Yes, it is hard. In so many ways. It has to start with Him and me being willing. I’m so glad to hear that, Meredith. Sometimes I wonder if I have anything left to say, and then the words just come. Thanks so much for your encouragement. Love you back.

      Like

  2. As soon as I saw your post title I thought of that song. When it first came out it had me wanting to join the Peace Corps. Just a random fact. But your words are moving and a reminder of how true it is. It starts with me. Blessings to you, friend. xoxo

    Like

    • That is so cool, Beth! I love learning new things about friends. I can definitely believe that about you. 😉 Thanks for sharing and blessings to you as well, friend. xoxo

      Like

  3. We do just have to start with ourselves. When we change ourselves , allow God to change us from within, that is when true transformation happens. Thank you for your words today! Visiting from FMF!

    Like

  4. I will now be humming that song! (we are big 80’s fans ’round here!) “My attitude. My prayer life, My time spent with the One who can change the world with one breath. The decisions I make today affect tomorrow.” Yes! And I needed this reminder so very much to keep my focus on Him instead of the hamster wheel the world wants me on. Thank you Abby!!

    Like

    • Oh yes, the hamster wheel. I have so been there. Sometimes I feel like I’m still on it but then I realize that God is changing the way I think, and those thoughts are where our actions come from. Thank you so much for your encouragement, Brandi. xoxo

      Like

  5. Sometimes the problems of the world seem so overwhelming that I feel paralyzed to make a difference. But you are so right that God has given each of us a sphere of influence—sometimes large, sometimes small, but always impactful. And when in doubt, we can always start with our own lives, our own hearts. Thank you for this encouragement!

    Like

    • Paralyzed. Yes, that is a good way to describe it, Katie. But yes, I’m trying to focus on what I CAN do and this is what God is speaking to me. Thank YOU for your encouragement as well. I always love hearing from you.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

