The Message Starts With the Messenger

church ruins

As I sit down in the recliner to pray, the connection seems distorted, like a amp with a loose wire. I try to focus, to let the words flow, but hundreds of thoughts pound through my head and make it difficult the talk to the one who can bring me peace.

I sit there and am simply silent. I let my mind be silent.

“Is there something you want to tell me?”

Yes, oh God. There’s so much. But I can’t seem to get the syllables right.

Just talk.

Just talk. Yeah. If only I could do that.

But I try it. Instead of trying to get every word just right I let the words pour out. All the fears. All the guilt. All the frustration and the unconfessed sin and anger.

As I empty myself, my mind begins to clear. A peaceful feeling envelops me and my eyes brim with tears. Joyful tears.

You will never be an effective messenger of love if you don’t spend time with the One who sent it.

Oh God. I know, I know. Please forgive me for thinking I could do it on my own. I’m only a messenger. I am nothing. It is only by your grace, your unending grace, that I am here. That I’m able to love at all.

And just like that, I have hope for another day.

 

This post was written for the Five Minute Friday link-up. Where hundreds of brave, beautiful writers meet each week to spend five minutes writing their thoughts on one word. Today’s word was: messenger. Click the button below to learn more.

Five Minute Friday

10 thoughts on “The Message Starts With the Messenger

  1. Abby, this is beautiful. I appreciate how real you are in your writing. That always draws me in. You’re not alone in this battle of thinking we can do it ourselves–either consciously or unconsciously. Such truth you shared in five minutes on how necessary it is to spend time with God. Thank you for cementing this in for me today.

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouragement today, Julie. It is a discipline, for sure. Even when I want to do it, I still have to make the time. Have a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  2. “You will never be an effective messenger of love if you don’t spend time with the One who sent it.” I needed to hear this today. The perfect reminder that because God IS love, it is only through him that we can feel it, grasp it, understand it, and share it.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

