When the Woman in the Mirror Says, “You’re Not Good Enough”

truth

I’m not sure when my negative self-talk started or how it became part of my inner monologue, but somehow those self-condemning thoughts worked their way into the recesses of my mind.

Most of us have them from time to time. Those conversations with the person in the mirror. Where we talk ourselves out of doing what God has called us to do. Where we talk ourselves out of doing the thing we love or taking a leap of faith.

For me, the conversation has been the same for as long as I can remember. The person in the mirror says, “You’re not good enough.” And the woman facing her meets the disapproval with deafening silence.

How do I respond? Maybe she’s right. I don’t have what it takes.

Sometimes the voice of our enemy becomes so familiar we mistake it as our own.

When I listen to the voice of my adversary, I look at a verse like this one and inwardly chuckle:

“Her children rise and call her blessed; her husband also, and praises her.” (Proverbs 31:28)

I think: My children rise and ask for their breakfast, but call me blessed? Hmmm.

But you see, I am blessed. And the more I bask in the truth of His Word and the presence of his Spirit, I realize that. I may tell myself I’m not good enough, and my enemy may repeat this lie to me until the day I die, but I don’t have to listen to it.

When our negative self-talk threatens to consume us, we must consume more of the Truth.

And the truth says I am more than a conqueror. (Romans 8:37) I am the righteousness of God through Christ. (2 Corinthians 5:21) I lack nothing, for God will provide all I need through His glorious riches. (Philippians 4:19)

My husband is a man of God who also happens to be a man of science. He tells me that every action has to have an equal and opposite reaction. The same is true for those oppressive, pessimistic talks we give ourselves which come in all shapes and sizes. For every lie, every negative thought, I must have an equal and opposite truth.

When I arm myself with the truth, I see that that woman in Proverbs 31 and I aren’t so different. We serve the same God and through his lens, we are both his children.

Children who are blessed.

10 thoughts on “When the Woman in the Mirror Says, “You’re Not Good Enough”

  1. We have quite the battle on our hands. Deafening silence and an aggressive enemy. Thank goodness we are fighting from victory instead of for victory, but we still have to fight. I love how even science screams for God’s truth. Awesome! Beautiful pictures!

    Like

    • Amen, Kasey! We are fighting FROM victory. We must always remember that. Thank you for stopping by today. I’m always blessed by your comments.

      Like

  2. So much yes here, Abby. This, “Sometimes the voice of our enemy becomes so familiar we mistake it as our own.” Been there all too often. Trying to decipher between my own truth and God’s truth. And then this, “When I arm myself with the truth, I see that that woman in Proverbs 31 and I aren’t so different. We serve the same God and through his lens, we are both his children.” YES! That is so comforting to read and understand. We are closer to being this woman than we realize…because in His eyes, we already are. Whoah! That’s some good news today. Bless you! And thank you for linking up. I so look forward to your posts.

    Like

    • I love hearing from you too, Meredith. I’m glad we’re on this writing journey together. Thanks for visiting and I always look forward to it. 🙂

      Like

  3. This was beautifully written. Satan wants nothing more than to destroy God’s Holy temple on Earth, us. He lives within us. Self-doubt is the beginning of indecisions, but one doesn’t have to believe what is professed! There’s an old Chinese proverb which goes, “Even if 5,000 men are wrong, they are still wrong.” Saying it is so, doesn’t make it true, no matter how many claim it to be. We have the Absolute Truth available and that’s God’s Word. He says He doesn’t make junk and we are certainly not junk! Believe and claim that! Blessings and prayers of worth to you,

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words and prayers, Ellie! You are right, our enemy is always looking for a way to steal and destroy. I’m so grateful for the freedom I have in Christ.

      Like

  4. Oh my, that voice of negativity has gotten ahold of me too, far too often. It’s so hard to disconnect myself from it and remember that it’s the voice of the enemy; it’s a daily struggle to remember that I don’t HAVE to believe those negative words are true. Thank goodness for a God who floods us with truth and love—the very opposite of what that negative voice tells us.

    Like

  5. Oh, Abby, you are reading my mind! I was told today in so many words that I wasn’t “good enough.” I chuckled when I read your beautiful post. It helped me not to buy into that lie, but to continue to believe what God says about me. And for the record, from what I’ve learned about you in this short time of us traveling this writing journey together, I think you are one amazing woman! Keep doing what you’re doing, friend! Blessings! Julie

    Like

Share your thoughts...

