The Thorn Called Envy

I remember sitting in a MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) meeting several years ago, listening to a fellow leadership team member pray, and wishing I had to ability to speak to God in front of a large group with such eloquence.  Her words were concise, yet filled with mercy and love for the mother she was lifting up to her Maker.  She did not appear at all nervous or timid.

Every aspect of this mentor’s relationship with God appeared ideal to me.  Her faith was strong and her walk was straight.  The temptations that pulled at me at every mile marker in my spiritual journey did not seem to be present in hers.

With time, I realized my view of this sister’s life was not only skewed, but extremely limited.

slide.001

When we compare others lives to our own we view their situation through a fisheye lens, but see ours with the wide angle. 

I did not see the trouble she was facing behind the scenes.  But it was present nonetheless.

After many years strengthening and growing in life with Christ, I realized that the seed God sends down from Heaven does not change depending who the recipient is.  Neither does the sower.  The difference is in the soil.  (Luke 8)

In Luke 8:8, Jesus says, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.”

His word will go out whether we hear it or not.  What we choose to do with it is up to us. But it will accomplish his purpose, and the beautiful part is that we have the opportunity to be part of it. (Isaiah 55:11) He gave us a will because He loves us and wants us to freely make the decision to follow Him.

That little sliver of envy I felt for the woman?  That was a thorn.  They come up in various forms and are filled with deceit.  Sometimes it’s jealousy.  Other times it’s greed or lust or pride.

My prayer is that I will continually examine my life, with the help of the Holy Spirit, and remove any thorn that threatens to squelch the joy that is only found in the God who created me.  The one who made me with unique talents, passions, personality and experience, each interconnected to shape my story and reflect His glory.

May my soil be rich with the nutrients of the Word.  May the seed of my God grow deeper each day, so that is immovable by any force that threatens to destroy it.

 

This post was written for Woman to Woman Wednesdays, a community which gathers on the said day each week to share, encourage, and love each other.  You can join us and find out more at 4hisgloryblog.com

8 thoughts on “The Thorn Called Envy

  1. Oh, Abby, these words are so insightful today!! Seriously, there are a lot of great “sticky statements” here. I want to tweet them all. 😀 The face we view our life with a wide angle and other’s wise a fish eye lens is SO VERY TRUE. And dangerous. I’ve been guilty of coveting another woman’s walk with the Lord and “godly husband” and the list goes on…only to realize her life isn’t as perfect as I had thought. And you are right, God’s will is always accomplished, whether we take our role in it or not. My prayer is that I would find my place so as to not miss out on those blessings. Thank you for linking up today and look forward to your words in the future as we talk woman to woman. Blessings, friend…Meredith

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouraging words today, Meredith. I so enjoyed linking up with you lovely ladies yesterday. Looking forward to the next one.

      Like

  2. Abby, I know envy all too well in my life. It’s most definitely a thorn. Thank you for your words of truth, hope and encouragement for the many who battle with it. May we all continue to examine our lives through prayer, and may our hearts be fertile soil to receive the seeds of His Word!

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping here today, Julie. I’m so grateful that God opened my eyes to this thorn. He continues to work on me each day. Grateful for this new community of beautiful women to help each other grow.

      Like

  3. We all need that continual self-examination, don’t we? There are days I don’t want to do it because I think I’m too tired or stressed to confront the thorns. But identifying and defeating them is what brings me so much closer to my Maker.

    Like

  4. Been there…done that. Been there…still doing that from time to time. Oh, when does it ever really stop! Lord, help us! Abby, thanks for sharing such words of truth. Comparing myself to others has always been a sticking point for me. Nothing can bring discouragement quicker. Praying for all of us to be the rich soil ready to receive the seed of God’s truth. And to rejoice in who He created each one of us to be, without being envious of who He created another to be.

    Like

    • Yes, Sabra! It is something I have to continually work on. I am so grateful for God’s grace. Thank you for stopping here and sharing your thoughts.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

