The Master Painter

It’s Friday.  Where hundreds of writers gather every week to stop being their own worst critic and just write.  One word.  Five minutes flat.  No hyper-editting or backtracking.  Just for the sheer joy of it.  Won’t you join us?  Click the button at the bottom of this post to learn more.

Today’s word:  Painter

IMG_1203

GO:

Last week I was having one of those days when I did not feel qualified. To do anything. To be a mom, to write, to be the kind of wife my husband needed. My tank was depleted and after a restless night I wasn’t sure how I was going to make it through another day to bedtime.

Normally when my two-year-old says, “Mama,” it sounds sweet and angelic. He can wrap me with no effort at all. On this particular day, the calls of “Mama” were more frequent. They felt light a dead weight on my chest. Like I couldn’t breathe. The more I heard it, the more I wanted to run outside into the woods behind our house, put a pillow over my face, and scream.

Nothing I did satisfied his incessant needs. He was my permanent shadow.

On days like those God’s voice isn’t as audible to me. I have to search. When I immerse myself in his word, my prayers are more fervent in asking that I’ll hear Him.

But the more I groped for Him, the more I realized that I wasn’t qualified. That’s not why He called me.

I am God’s masterpiece. But I am not my own.

IMG_1385

I am God’s masterpiece not because of my own ability to create fine art, but because He is the painter.

Is He enough?

Yes, he is more than enough. And the more I realize that, the more I embrace my own weakness. Because He is strong.

STOP.

Five Minute Friday

10 thoughts on “The Master Painter

  1. Dropping by from FMF. I hear you! Those days when you have to leave for school at 9 am, it’s 8:55, and your 5 year old isn’t dressed? yeah. Thanks for the lovely reminder that we are God’s workmanship!

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning. I loved your honesty, motherhood is an amazing thing, but yes there are weeks when overwhelmed is the way we feel. HE is more than enough…keep clinging to Him for strength. You are doing a great job!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, Brenda! We all need a reminder sometimes that we are not alone. I’m so grateful for the hope of Christ and the moms who lift me up.

      Like

  3. I’m just being blown away by the beautiful insights I’m seeing in the FMF posts today – yours included! He is certainly enough – thank-you for the reminder! 🙂

    Like

  4. Stopping by from COMPEL. Yeah, had those days. I can relate to the “put my head in a pillow and scream”…. Got that action down! 🙂 I figure it’s better to yell into a pillow than at the workmanship He gave me to take care of! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping here today, Rachel! Compel has been such a blessing. I think we all have those days as moms. But you are right, these little ones are such a gift.

      Like

  5. AMEN! None of us is qualified for the work we’re called to do, but through God we grow strong and can do incredible things because it’s HIS work. Thank you for this reminder that even on the really tough days, I’m still God’s work of art.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

